Wii error problem

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by samantha ireland, Apr 16, 2007.

Apr 16, 2007

Wii error problem by samantha ireland at 10:53 PM (1,548 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. samantha ireland
    OP

    Newcomer samantha ireland Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    First of all hi to all the people on this forum. I have just got my Wii chipped with the Wiikey, I have tried burning with 3 media types using Imgburn. I have burnt at 4x,6x and it coming up sometimes with Disk Read Error during game play,sometimes but no all the time.

    What could this be?
    Probly something simple but i cant seem to find out.
     
  2. Wuschmaster

    Member Wuschmaster GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    515
    Country:
    United States
    thats normal with both modded GC and Wiis. only way to fix is try different media
     
  3. samantha ireland
    OP

    Newcomer samantha ireland Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    My verbatim dvd-r wont work at all. I have just tried copying a iso with a disk I bought out of the pound shop by my house. I like in the UK, it is working fie.
    The disc has got a big purple R on it thats it, anyone know what make these are as i will buy a 100 . Or is it just me being stupid and the make is R lol?
     
  4. 96hondaex

    Member 96hondaex GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Pasadena, Tx
    Country:
    United States
    The position of the Wii sometimes makes a difference.
     
  5. JesterDev

    Member JesterDev GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United States
    You have the right type of media, (I suggest -R not +R just a personal preference) but you really should not by no name media. I have had no problems at all with whatever media I try, but even for me there are limits. Just buy a higher quality media and you should be fine. Depending on the frequency of the errors, that low quality media just may be your problem.
     
  6. bliss-chris

    Newcomer bliss-chris Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Germany
    How do you know and what position is best?
     
  7. samantha ireland
    OP

    Newcomer samantha ireland Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    How come people say the -R work better what is the difference between the two types -and + ?
     
  8. shtonkalot

    Member shtonkalot Can't hold on much longer, But I'll never let go!

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    954
    Location:
    Gosford, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    samantha ireland, what burner and firmware are you using to burn with?
     
  9. samantha ireland
    OP

    Newcomer samantha ireland Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    I am using a Pioneer K17RS. I use Nero 7 to burn.
     
  10. bliss-chris

    Newcomer bliss-chris Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Germany
    Here's a little comparison of the two formats, which depicts how different they are internally (DVD+-R comparison). Well, there are plenty of pros and cons for both formats. Chiip e.g. says -R is better because of a higher lifespan of the DVD laser (Wii compatible media). For the user the two formats don't make much of a difference. But unfortunately i also don't know what exactly makes the difference for the Wii why one works better than the other.

     
  11. shtonkalot

    Member shtonkalot Can't hold on much longer, But I'll never let go!

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    954
    Location:
    Gosford, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    If I'm not wrong that is a laptop drive, is it not? A fairly new one?
    If so I would advise trying another burner, preferably a well known quality full size (desktop) one.
    I was referring to the drives internal firmware before but I can't find firmware for your drive at all as yet. Using NERO or IMGburn or any ISO burning software should be fine. I recommend IMGburn though.

    Try burn one of those Verbatims in another drive and see if that works.
    The cheap disc might work better with your burner but that still doesn't make it an ideal combination.
     
  12. samantha ireland
    OP

    Newcomer samantha ireland Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Yes its a acer aspire 5610z. I have got a old pioneer DVD burner in a desktop PC upstairs. Are laptop burners not as good as desktop or something ?
    Would you suggest trying the Verbatims in my old Pioneer upstairs.

    I use image burn, just put one of the discs in with the purple R on it. It came up Manufacturer ID: MCC 03RG20

    Just typed Manufacturer ID: MCC 03RG20 in google and it comes up Verbatim. Does that mean them Discs with the purple R on are Verbatim ?
     
  13. 96hondaex

    Member 96hondaex GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Pasadena, Tx
    Country:
    United States
    You have to test to find out which position reads best. I have my Wii laying flat and it has never given me a dre. I have a Wiinja V2 and use TDK 1-16x media and burn with Nero 7 @ 4x and sometimes 8x. I always burn on my desktop. I have heard of people having problems with games they burn on their laptop drive.
     
  14. samantha ireland
    OP

    Newcomer samantha ireland Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Could it also be possible to get Problems if i am burning off a external harddrive ?
     
  15. 96hondaex

    Member 96hondaex GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Pasadena, Tx
    Country:
    United States
    That should not be a problem because I have all my games on external drive.
     
  16. shtonkalot

    Member shtonkalot Can't hold on much longer, But I'll never let go!

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    954
    Location:
    Gosford, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Laptop DVD-RW drives are often not very good. I'm really unsure about your particular burner though.

    Yes to the trying the Verbatims in the desktop Pioneer. Older Pioneer drives have had their share of problems too though, try updating the firmware in it if you have problems. You can check for a firmware update through IMGburn like so:-
    [​IMG]

    The MCC discs mean they have a recording layer manufactured by Mitsubishi Chemical Corp. A lot of different brands use their recording layer so it doesn't tell you what brand they are.
     
  17. samantha ireland
    OP

    Newcomer samantha ireland Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    i have got the latest firmware. I have just got cooking mama on NTSC my system is PAL. I put the 1.2 configuration disc in and put on regoin over ride. But the game did not work.
    Any ideas ?
     

Share This Page