Wii doesnt read disc even after new dvdrom-drive replacement

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by mad3d, Jul 28, 2010.

  1. mad3d
    OP

    Newcomer mad3d Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Peru
    Does anyone had this problem before?
    I just got a working dvd-rom unit from my brother's wii that is working perfectly but refuses to read original or backup discs [​IMG]

    I hope someone could give an hint in order to fix this.
    Thanks in advance
     
  2. luminalace

    Member luminalace GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    462
    Country:
    Australia
    I was gonna say it might be a D3-2 drive but if it cannot read originals either then I'm not sure!
     
  3. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Does it have a chip? And if yes is it configured to the region of your wii?
     
  4. cacildo

    Member cacildo Went and came back

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Country:
    Bahamas, The
    Look, my wii used to give me a lot of DREs.

    Then i ordered some ´´wii laser parts´´. I opened my wii by myself, replaced the laser by myself. Im not a handy kind of guy, so i found this whole process pretty hard to do.

    Anyway, after hours my wii was ready, replaced laser.

    Poped a disk. Worked fine. But i still got the very same DREs as before.

    After that i finally installed HBC, Usb Loader and never ever messed with burned DVDs again.
     
  5. mad3d
    OP

    Newcomer mad3d Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Peru
    Guys there seems I didnt explain well, my wii console was not reading original games, switched WHOLE dvdrom unit from my brother's wii ( fully functional ) and my will still give me DRE every original disk I test.

    Maybe there is something broken on the wii mainboard, a fuse or something [​IMG]
     
  6. dmcbudman

    Newcomer dmcbudman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    or you have it set to load discs with a wrong ios?
    first check your settings in priiloader.
    then if that doesnt work, check what ios the games starts with and reinstall that ios and see
    -d
     
  7. BobTheJoeBob

    Member BobTheJoeBob The most optimistic person on the temp. :)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,691
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Make sure the region on your wii matches the original disks your trying.
     
  8. mad3d
    OP

    Newcomer mad3d Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Peru
    its a non hacked wii console, so no priiloader, and It even doesnt read wiisport disc that came with the console itself.
     
  9. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    I think then damage to the mobo or the drive cable is likely.
    Did you open it up before experiencing this problem?
    Maybe try checking for optical signs of damage and loose cabling
     

Share This Page