wii d2c board chip help

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by rigz2007, Jul 9, 2007.

Jul 9, 2007

wii d2c board chip help by rigz2007 at 11:51 PM (7,979 Views / 0 Likes) 34 replies

1. rigz2007
    OP

Newcomer rigz2007 Member

United Kingdom
    Hey everyone,
    I’m kind of new to this so ill start with what I know , I want to mod my wii (the new d2c type) board with a genuine wiikey I have already got a guide on how to install the chip to the drive, the guide advises me to use a dremel type drill to grind away at the drive chip to expose 3 points that I can solder to .

My question is instead of using a dremel to grind away at the chip would I be able to optionally use a craft knife to scrape away at it until I expose the three pins I need ???:| I don’t really want to be buying a dremel just for my modd.

Also I asked a local games workshop if they could fit my wiikey but they charge £80 , I can buy the tools to do it my self for less so im really set on doing it on my own ,please help .Tom

the guide i am using is here (http://www.modchipfitters.com/Uncovering_Cut_IC_Legs.htm)

thanks peeps

2. Bloodgod

Member Bloodgod 嵐の王

United States
    Could be wrong but arn't the D2C chips un-moddable at the moment?

3. rigz2007
    OP

Newcomer rigz2007 Member

United Kingdom
    bloodgod,

by the looks of the tutorial i have added it looks to me like theyve found away round it allready ,

4. Bloodgod

Member Bloodgod 嵐の王

United States
    From what I remember those cut off legs still had D2B chips. So it was still able to use the current chips out. Also that page doesn't mention anything about D2C chip

Again I could be wrong cause I stopped caring after my chip was installed.

5. rigz2007
    OP

Newcomer rigz2007 Member

United Kingdom
  6. Bloodgod

Member Bloodgod 嵐の王

United States
    if you read the description is only states "D2A/D2B" support"

7. rigz2007
    OP

Newcomer rigz2007 Member

United Kingdom