Hacking wii d2c board chip help

rigz2007

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Hey everyone,
I’m kind of new to this so ill start with what I know , I want to mod my wii (the new d2c type) board with a genuine wiikey I have already got a guide on how to install the chip to the drive, the guide advises me to use a dremel type drill to grind away at the drive chip to expose 3 points that I can solder to .

My question is instead of using a dremel to grind away at the chip would I be able to optionally use a craft knife to scrape away at it until I expose the three pins I need ???:| I don’t really want to be buying a dremel just for my modd.

Also I asked a local games workshop if they could fit my wiikey but they charge £80 , I can buy the tools to do it my self for less so im really set on doing it on my own ,please help .Tom

the guide i am using is here (http://www.modchipfitters.com/Uncovering_Cut_IC_Legs.htm)

thanks peeps

rigz2007

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
bloodgod,

by the looks of the tutorial i have added it looks to me like theyve found away round it allready ,

Bloodgod

嵐の王
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
From what I remember those cut off legs still had D2B chips. So it was still able to use the current chips out. Also that page doesn't mention anything about D2C chip

Again I could be wrong cause I stopped caring after my chip was installed.

rigz2007

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
ohh shit thanks dude i just realised that ..ohhhh.................... danm should i go ahead anyway and try cos the shop i called said the wiikey does work with d2c should i take their word for it ..

Bloodgod

嵐の王
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
all up to you. It is your Wii after all. But I would wait for someone else to post to verify/disprove what I posted. Don't want you getting a chip that doesn't work for you.

Shelleeson

Trophies
XP
Country
Hey everyone,