Wii/CycloWiz Not Working With All Titles?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by avatarx, Feb 14, 2007.

Feb 14, 2007
  1. avatarx
    OP

    Newcomer avatarx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    United States
    Users are starting to report that some PAL titles...

    NOT WORKING
    Rayman (PI)
    Call of Duty 3 (Wiierd)

    WORKING WITH ISSUES
    Tony Hawk's Downhill Jam (PI)
    Wario Ware Smooth Moves (DRabbits)
    Marvel Ultimate Alliance (PARADOX)

    ... are not working properly with the CycloWiz. They reported that their own dump or isos downloaded from the internet neither worked.

    A website has been set up for CycloWiz compatibility issues at http://tyrant.de/cyclowiz.htm

    Same reports with Wiinja at http://www.wiinja.com/Foros/viewtopic.php?t=125
     
  2. avatarx
    OP

    Newcomer avatarx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    United States
    can anyone else confirm?
     
  3. qaz76

    Newcomer qaz76 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Fiji
    Here´s the list of the working games that i have tested.

    Wii is Pal.
    Chip is wiinja.
    Burner Nec 2500a burned all @ 4x.

    Media: Princo budget dvd-r & Rivision dvd-r // just noticed that these princos should be bad but only problems that i encourted were the wario ware i just kept having dre on it. So i tested to burn it with different media and it helped. I will inform here if any other problems encounter.


    Call_Of_Duty_3_PAL_ENGLISH_Wii-WiiERD
     
  4. Ben_j

    Member Ben_j GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    696
    Country:
    France
    Rayman works with DREs with my Wiinja...

    Wario Ware and Tony Hawks are working perfectly
     
  5. Nipi

    Newcomer Nipi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Chip: Cyclowiz
    Region: Pal

    Used media: TDK DVD+R (Burned as DVD-ROM), Sony DVD-R
    Used speed: 4x and 6x (Does not make a difference)

    Tested games:
    WarioWare: Smooth Moves: Works. Begins to stutter during intromovie and storymovies.
    Rayman Raving Rabbids: Disc Read Error
    Madden NFL 07: Works perfect
    Wii Play: Works perfect
    Need for Speed: Carbon: Works perfect
    Gottlieb Pinball Classics: Works perfect
     
  6. jaxxster

    Member jaxxster The Heretic

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,423
    Location:
    South East London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hopefully an update could fix these issues though [​IMG]
     
  7. elomaniak

    Member elomaniak GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    185
    Country:
    Poland
    Chip: Cyclowiz
    Region: Pal

    Used media
    : Octron DVD-R, Verbatim DVD-R
    Used speed: 4x

    Wii Games
    :
    WarioWare: Smooth Moves: Works. Begins to stutter during intromovie and storymovies.
    Rayman Raving Rabbids: Disc Read Error
    Spongebob and the creature from the KK: Disc Read Error
    Wii Play: Works perfect
    GT Pro Series: Works perfect
    Rampage Total Destruction: Works perfect

    NGC Games:
    Dragonball Z Budokai 2: Works perfect
    Mario Kart Double Dash: Works perfect
    Super Smash Bros Melee: Works perfect
    Wario World: Works perfect
     
  8. baezl

    Newcomer baezl Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Fort Walton Beach, FL
    Country:
    United States
    Chip: Cyclowiz
    Region: NTSC

    Media: Verbatim DVD+R
    Burning speed: 16x
    Burner: Pioneer DVR-111D Crossflashed to 111L


    Wii Games:
    WarioWare: Smooth Moves: Works. Great. Only played for about 20 minutes though.
    Rayman Raving Rabbids: Works Great
    Tony Hawk: A little audio stutter at the beginning only
    COD3: Right when you click New Campaign, says an error occured, please remove disk and shut the console down
    Spongbob: error as soon as I start the disc up.
    Marvel Ultimate Alliance: Complains that controller has been disconnected. I press A, then the game continues and plays fine.
     
  9. jaxxster

    Member jaxxster The Heretic

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,423
    Location:
    South East London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmm, Thats odd. 2 Different results for 2 different regions :S
     
  10. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Chip: Wiinja V1
    Region: PAL

    Tested Games:
    Rayman Ravin Rabbids: Works perfect, almost finished it already.
    Call Of Duty 3: Works perfect, no errors at all.

    What other games do you want me to test?

    Update: Spongebob PAL: Works perfect!
     
  11. flai

    Member flai Androgynous Apparently :)

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    850
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So, can I get Rayman working on a PAL Wii with a Cyclowiz, an NEC 16 or 18x writer and a Pioneer writer 12x? And if so, what type of DVD, what make, and what write speed? Thanks.
     
  12. baezl

    Newcomer baezl Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Fort Walton Beach, FL
    Country:
    United States
    Any NTSC console users get COD3 or Sponge Bob working? I am going to re-dump both tonight with RawDump2.0 too see if it makes a difference.

    Thanks

    Luis
     
  13. nloding

    Member nloding GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    400
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    Country:
    United States
    But how many of these games have been tested with multiple DVD burners and multiple types of media?

    When I was modding my GC, some games worked with one burner but not with another, and vice versa. How much of this is the chip?

    I'm not so sure it's the fault of the chip. It's probably either the image itself, or it's the media/burner combination.

    The chip just bypasses the security check, and provided that's all it does (I can't see the Wiinja doing much else), then the chip is probably not at fault. Reburn the images with a different burner, and try three or four high-quality media types, both DVD-R and +R, and then we'll see what the results are.
     
  14. baezl

    Newcomer baezl Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Fort Walton Beach, FL
    Country:
    United States
    Well after dumping my own COD3 and it still errored out, I took my cyclowiz out and put in a wiinja and that same exact copy that did not work with Cyclowiz, worked without issues. Hopefully they will release an update to the v1 cyclowiz via DvD as they stated. I have a WiiKey on order so I will try it when it arrives too see if the same thing happens.


    Luis
     
  15. elomaniak

    Member elomaniak GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    185
    Country:
    Poland
    so now there should be a solution for this problem witht he cyclowiz

    on maxconsole they say you should solder the cyclowiz like a wiinja and it should work properly
     
  16. fsimonp

    Member fsimonp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    Germany
    wtf?
    they are saying its better to solder it like a wiinja but before they give cyclowiz the price for the best modchip?
    i think theres no problem with the quicksolder as long as you solder it clean and correctly..
     
  17. baezl

    Newcomer baezl Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Fort Walton Beach, FL
    Country:
    United States
    I will try the cyclowiz like the wiinja tonight. It is getting old opening the console over and over to find something that works like it should.

    Luis
     
  18. F-Ray

    Newcomer F-Ray Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    So how did it go?
     
  19. baezl

    Newcomer baezl Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Fort Walton Beach, FL
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry I have not been online to reply. It did not make a difference. I ended up leaving the wiinja in there for now until I receive the wiikey. I do not think they will ever update the cyclowiz, so I have given up on them for the time being.

    Luis
     
  20. Reepa

    Newcomer Reepa Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thought I would add my input to this

    Chip: Wiinja V1
    Drive Chipset: DMS
    Region: Pal

    Used media: TDK DVD-R 16x
    Used speed: 4x

    Tested games:
    Rayman Raving Rabbids: First run gave reboot error, after this played 100% perfect.
    Excite Truck: Runs great, occasional DRE (during races)
     

Share This Page