Wii crash while backing up NAND with Bootmii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by brett824, Oct 18, 2009.

Oct 18, 2009
  1. brett824
    OP

    Newcomer brett824 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    My Wii seems to be having some issues with power supply/overheating lately causing it to randomly power off, and I want to get a NAND backup from it, just to be safe (I have it installed to boot2). Will a crash during the Bootmii back up process cause a brick?
     
  2. Szalkow

    Member Szalkow RawkSD Cheerleader

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    673
    Location:
    Uni
    Country:
    United States
    No. If the Wii crashes or turns off while backing up, you'll just have a bad backup and will have to restart the backup process.
     
  3. brett824
    OP

    Newcomer brett824 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    Alright thanks.
     
  4. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    You get a brick when it crashes on the restore. If you have BootMii installed to boot2, that's not a problem as you can just start all over. With BootMii IOS it's a really reallybad brick, which is why nobody recommends using the restore function with BootMii IOS.
     
  5. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    i would still attempt a nand restore on IOS if it was my last hope.
    ive never heard of a situation where bootmii has failed someone, have you?
     
  6. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I read from an error on restore from BootMii IOS ==> full brick, yes.
     
  7. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    no i get what you mean
    if a error occurs while restoring from bootmii IOS = brick
    but have you ever heard of an error occuring with bootmii?
     
  8. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    nope not with bootmii itself
     
  9. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Yes, i heard from a brick because of an error during the restore process.
     

Share This Page