Hacking Wii-clip (open wii) + programmer

Prime

OP
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
I really want to buy this because i have no experience in soldering and there is no where near me that installs mod chips. But i noticed the programmer needs a parallel port on your computer, correct? well my computer doesn't have a parallel port. Could i use this to hook it up to my computer via USB and program the chip?

(or do you think the chip has firmware already on it?)

drock360

Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
I know that the chip does not come preprogrammed, but I am not sure if you can use a usb to printing port cable. I would recommend the key clip, another programmable chip by the same makers of the open clip. With the key clip, you can program the openwii firmware along with the wiikey firmware and a few other open source firmwares.

Prime

OP
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
drock360 said:
I know that the chip does not come preprogrammed, but I am not sure if you can use a usb to printing port cable. I would recommend the key clip, another programmable chip by the same makers of the open clip. With the key clip, you can program the openwii firmware along with the wiikey firmware and a few other open source firmwares.

what is the difference between the key-clip and the open-wii?

i'm sure you can program the open-wii with different firmwares

drock360

Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
The open clip is a PIC chip that you can program openwii and other open source firmwares onto it. The key clip is an ATmega8 chip that can be programmed with wiikey, openwii, and other open source firmwares. They are just different types of chips, that can be programmed with different firmwares.

Prime

OP
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Well they are just like each other then. I would not want the wiikey firmware anyways....

As long as the mod chip is open source and can be programmed with different firmwares then i'm fine