Wii cIOS troubleshootan!!!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by cruncher3019, Jan 18, 2010.

Jan 18, 2010
  1. cruncher3019
    OP

    Newcomer cruncher3019 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Upon installing HBC, DVDX, and BootMii, I was pretty much left with one question as to how to run backup wii games. I was told that I'd need a backup launcher in order to do this, but was then informed that, since I had BootMii installed, the games would run straight from the disc channel. (Is this true?)

    Anyway, what I then realized was that I needed to also update my cIOS in order to be able to play these backup games. Reading guides (many, many guides) I've seen that I need to install cIOS38 rev 14 in order to run games. I then read that in order to install 38, you need to patch 36. That's all fine and good, however, looking at my HBC, I see that I'm running 35.

    SO my first question is "What the hell?" Do I have to patch 35 in order to install 36 rev7? Can I just install 36 rev7? Or can i just skip to 38? I've pretty much been spending all day on this. I thought I installed 36 and then went to patch it using TBR, which turned my homebrew screen upside down. I uninstalled homebrew channel and reinstalled and it is now back at 35. So I'm really hoping someone would be willing to offer the appropriate links and a someone decent step by step as to what needs to be done.

    I'd also like to know if it's true whether or not my games will just run from the disc channel using bootmii.

    I apologize for what I'm assuming is a nub question, but I've been at this for an absurd amoutn fo time and I'm tired of looking at google.
     
  2. metroid4life14

    Member metroid4life14 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    United States
    If you've already trucha patched, you should be good to install cIOS... the upside down HBC is a common glitch.
     
  3. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Your info was FALSE-You canNOT reun backups from the disc channel with just bootmii. For that you'll need cIOSCORP
     
  4. cruncher3019
    OP

    Newcomer cruncher3019 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    One of the problems is that it says I'm running cIOS35 rather than 36. Do I install this before I install 38, because when i try to install 38, I get the:

    "Trying to read suchandsuch.wad... ERROR ret=-1"

    And whenever I run Neogamma, it says I don't have IOS249 installed.
     
  5. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    IOS35 and 36 are installed to different slots, so you're running a range of different ones. IOS35 is just the one that the HBC is running on. Go ahead and patch IOS36. cIOS36 rev7 is an outdated version of cIOS38 rev14. But my recommendation is you install cIOS38 rev17.
    And the error -1 is that you don't have the necessary wad file on your SD card
     
  6. cruncher3019
    OP

    Newcomer cruncher3019 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Oh! Is that what it means? But when I downloaded the installer, it didn't include the wad file. Is it in a separate download? (Link is possible, though I'm googling it)
     
  7. metroid4life14

    Member metroid4life14 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    United States
    ret=-1 actually means that the file does not exist in the directory. Not necessarily that the file doesn't exist, but that it's not in the right place. Make sure all wad files are in the "wads" folder of your sd card, not on the root of your sd card.
     
  8. cruncher3019
    OP

    Newcomer cruncher3019 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I have the wads folder and everything, but the installer didn't come with the wad I need, unfortunately, so I'm wondering where to find it.
     
  9. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    Go through xzxero's guide in the stickies and just follow it or the CompleteSoftmodGuide. Whichever you find easier. Everything is packaged how it's supposed to be on the card already in the download pack for xzxero's so you shouldn't have trouble following it provided you do it carefully.

    If you want to LEARN what's going on with your system read my guide in the stickies, and then follow xzxero's. I have an entire section in my guide explaining what you should know about cIOS's and IOS's.
     
  10. cruncher3019
    OP

    Newcomer cruncher3019 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks guys. I'm all updated and ready to go. I'm able to install VC games and everything and just need to try wii games.
     
  11. tylerzentz

    Member tylerzentz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    United States
    just to clear something up for ya....
    you were confused about the whole IOS35 and IOS36 thing.
    different programs and apps use different IOSs.
    an old version of the homebrew channel used IOS35. thats what you mustve had.
    IOS36 was used by an old system menu version. it is used by many mods and hacks to install unofficial content (virtual console wads and things like that) because it can tell the Wii that the unofficial content is actually official.
     
  12. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    huh? what system menu ever used 36?
     
  13. razorback78

    Member razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    Philippines
    maybe you should run dop-ios mod to give you info what system menu uses ios36...definitely you won't find any because there's none.
     
  14. tylerzentz

    Member tylerzentz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    United States
    oh, my bad. what was it used for then? couldve swore it was a system menu....
     
  15. razorback78

    Member razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    Philippines
    maybe you are referring to ios30 which was used system menu 3.0-3.3 as far as i remember. you could check here on info regarding ios: http://wiibrew.org/wiki/IOS_History
     

Share This Page