Wii *chip retailers, prices and reviews

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Warm Woolly Shee, Jan 28, 2007.

Jan 28, 2007
  1. Warm Woolly Shee
    OP

Member Warm Woolly Shee GBAtemp Advanced Fan

United States
    Whenever you buy a modchip, please reply here with your experiences.

UPDATE!

The most complete list of Modchip retailers ever compiled (in all of history) has been wiki'fied for your convenience!

http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/Modchip_Retailers

Please help the community by adding new retailers and removing bad links from that page. Anyone can edit, so please help.

This thread should only be used to REVIEW retailers.

2. Renegade_R

Member Renegade_R Audio/Video Expert

Canada
    You know what...I'm pretty sure at this point that this chip is a generalized chip that simply shorts several points of the Wii...I'm no engineer but I think the fact that only 5 wires have to be soldered on an 8 pin chip means that a generic version exists somewhere...otherwise the chip would have had only 5 pins...right??

Wait it out...this thing could very well only cost $4.

3. Hooya

Member Hooya GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

United States

We have already figured out that the chip is a generic PIC chip. They cost about $2. But it's programmed, and probably they have burnt out the fuses or whatever it is that they do on a PIC chip to make it pretty much impossible to reverse engineer. So it's not so much they chip we're paying for but the few lines of code on the chip. So it doesn't short something, it does implement some logic, but it's just not very much.

4. deufeufeu

Member deufeufeu GBAtemp Advanced Fan

Cote d'Ivoire
    It might be stupid but : how in the hell are we supposed to burn wii discs ? So far they are not burnable, no ?

5. Warm Woolly Shee
    OP

United States
    Hey guys* thanks for replying with your reviews**!

*assholes

**shit

6. Nightstalker

Member Nightstalker GBAtemp Regular

United States