wii cannot read disc after Any Region Changer

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by nilocz, Aug 26, 2008.

Aug 26, 2008
  1. nilocz
    OP

    Newcomer nilocz Newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Hi guys,

    i have a jap wii (wikey 1.9b , 3.2j)
    after convert my wii jap to wii us using Any Region Changer ,
    now system menu in english
    mii channel in english
    photo channel in english
    wiiware still playable
    homebrew channel still playable
    but cannot read wii backup games..... i think all of them( which is playable on wii jap)


    any help will be appreciate
    thanks in advance
     


  2. Smuff

    Member Smuff Fossilized Gamer

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Location:
    By the sea
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If your backups are NTSC-J they may need converting to NTSC-U
     
  3. deadrabbit

    Newcomer deadrabbit Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you tried booting through gecko os?
     
  4. Hideki-kun

    Member Hideki-kun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think you need to change your chip's region setting through the WiiKey config disc.
     
  5. nilocz
    OP

    Newcomer nilocz Newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Malaysia
    If your backups are NTSC-J they may need converting to NTSC-U
    most of the backups are region free

    Have you tried booting through gecko os?
    don't know what is gecko os yet will try later


    I think you need to change your chip's region setting through the WiiKey config disc.
    i have set the console setting to japanese on the Any Region Changer setting but if i want to set the wiikey config which version am i going to use?(us or jap)or do i need to do the 1.9s update ?

    thanks for the quick respond guys
     
  6. nilocz
    OP

    Newcomer nilocz Newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Malaysia
    my wii dont read gc backup games also

    1.9s update disc "unable to read refer wii menual bla,bla.bla........"

    look like wiikey failure
     
  7. buzZbomb

    Newcomer buzZbomb Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    change back to jap, then use the usa firmware on the wiikey, then region change to usa.
     
  8. bobby8850

    Newcomer bobby8850 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    try the steps as follow:

    1.Change console region back to japan
    2.Use jap wiikey cinfig disc to "off" the region
    3.now use Any Region Changer to USA region
    4. Use wiikey usa config disc to "on" the region

    Done

    [​IMG]
     
  9. hai_haifa

    Newcomer hai_haifa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Israel
    has anyone tried any region on jap - wii with D2CKEY?

    do i need to update short the jumper on the d2ckey, or not?

    if i use any region on jap - wii with d2ckey, is it still continue to read backups?
     
  10. kindaichi

    Newcomer kindaichi Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Hi there,
    i tried the Any Region in my 3.2J Wii with D2Ckey on it.
    After i change to USA and english, all my Wii games has stoped working, but i could boot then using GeckoOS. I think it´s because the jumper in D2Ckey is set to Jp, and i needed to change to US.
     
  11. 9thSage

    Member 9thSage GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    388
    Country:
    United States
    Bingo. Your Wii is set to boot USA region discs, yet your modchip is telling the system these games are all Japanese, so your Wii will not boot them. People shouldn't mess with these tools until they are absolutely sure of what they do. Be careful with this stuff.

    *edit*
    Actually, you could probably use AnyRegion Changer to change the disc region to Japanese (the GAME setting...affects the region of discs and channels that will be booted), assuming you have the HB Channel installed. Probably better to use the switch on your modchip though.
     
  12. Pd69LJ

    Newcomer Pd69LJ Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    so ur means that if i do not change the game region, my JP console still can launch JP original & backups without any changes (of coz the mod-chip region settings matched the console's region) my right??? and the channels what i downloaded before from the JP shopping channel still working??? i just wondering if i keep my console's game region in JP and change the shop country code to US then download & install a channel, will works also??? cus i changed my console's language and console area from JP to US, and the channels what i downloaded after changed the region all dead, lunched the channel and only one error msg: the channel cant be used... so is this the game region problem??? but i saw somebody changed the language, area, and game region all these 3 setting to US still got this issue, but im not sure the dead channel's region is JP or US
     
  13. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,387
    Country:
    Sweden
    The Wiikey have no special region check. You just soilding it on. If you change to to JPN region just use the Wiikey config disc for US instead.
    That should be enough to make the Wiikey understand its on an US system instead of a JPN system.
     
  14. 9thSage

    Member 9thSage GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    388
    Country:
    United States
    Uh, if I understand what you're saying, any channels that you downloaded before converting your Wii's system menu to US (from the Japanese Shop Channel, or whatever) won't work if the GAME setting is anything but Japanese. You could use StarFall (assuming you have v2.2U installed) or MenuLoader to play them though.
     
  15. 9thSage

    Member 9thSage GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    388
    Country:
    United States
    Even so, to get it to launch, he'd have to change the GAME setting back to Japanese, load it (change the region), then change the GAME setting back to USA since his chip is making all the games 'look' Japanese to his Wii that now is expecting US games.
     
  16. Richy Freeway

    Member Richy Freeway GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The Wiikey has specific firmwares for JPN/US/PAL does it not? Just using the config disc won't help. I think the Wiikey has to be flashed for the region of the console, in this case as it's now US it needs a US firmware.

    http://www.wiikey.cn/resources.html

    As you can see there, there are firmware update discs for each region.
     
  17. wiizard

    Newcomer wiizard Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Singapore
    Can anyone confirm this method works? By changing everything to USA & English except the Game setting.
    I've 3.2J with D2Ckey and I don't want to open my Wii just to change the jumper on the modchip.
     
  18. ricflairandy

    Member ricflairandy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    im in the same boat, would this make the jap wii pretty mych the same as a usa wii without me having to open up the wii,
     
  19. ashesburn

    Member ashesburn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey, I have a question.

    I am currently on 3.1j and wiikey 1.9s, and I wish to use Any Region Changer to switch over to a NTSC-U setup. How would you advise me to go about doing this?

    Should I use the 1.9s US version on it first before switching over? Is there a need to use the 1.9b US version recover disc first?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  20. emachine

    Newcomer emachine Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Philippines
    any update on this? im also in the same situation.
     

Share This Page