Wii Bricked?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by ShadowNeko003, Oct 20, 2009.

Oct 20, 2009

Wii Bricked? by ShadowNeko003 at 2:46 AM (931 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. ShadowNeko003
    OP

    Member ShadowNeko003 ~Nyah~

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    302
    Country:
    United States
    I recently updated from 3.3U to 4.1U via Waninkoko and accidentally ran the IOS60 Patcher . Now it boots up to a black screen. According to Savemii, it falls under "low level failure." No preloader or boot2 installed. My question is, is my wii bricked beyond repairs (minus sending it into Nintendo)? And if it is beyond repair, is it a good idea to send to Nintendo?

    it's bricked. for sure. Send in (with HBC and Twilight Princess save hack) or get a new one?
     
  2. Yyhhggtt

    Member Yyhhggtt GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    In my Wii at Saskatchewan.
    Country:
    Canada
    ...
    If you read around, you could of stopped this.
    Due to Nintendo updating to IOS70, they stubbed IOS60. Which Waninkoko's updater installs the stubbed IOS. Your finished! (Unless you have BootMii as boot2.)
     
  3. ShadowNeko003
    OP

    Member ShadowNeko003 ~Nyah~

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    302
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I read after I ran the 60 patcher by mistake and got a black screen. So it's bricked for good. That I can handle, but is it a good idea to send it to Nintendo (has HBC and possibly Twilight Princess hack save file, so we'll assume it does) or just get a new one?
     
  4. Retrievil

    Member Retrievil GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Country:
    Canada
    If you were updating to 4.1, you do not have a stubbed ios60. Only 4.2 has a stubbed 60.

    Not sure why you bricked but without preloader or bootmii boot2, it's a moot point, you're done.

    I'd send it in. Say you were updating to 4.2 and it bricked. Worst case scenario they say bullshit and charge you to fix it, whcih will be less than a new Wii regardless. You really have nothing to lose.
     
  5. DarkMatterCore

    Member DarkMatterCore I like turtles.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    886
    Location:
    Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela.
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Any IOS 60 Patcher/Installer installs automatically the latest version of the IOS, in this case the v6400. That's the cause of the brick: a stubbed IOS 60. I know this because a friend of mine did the same thing and he only got that. Pretty bad, because his console has a v4 Boot2; and he lost Preloader with the installation of the IOS 60 stub.
     
  6. ShadowNeko003
    OP

    Member ShadowNeko003 ~Nyah~

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    302
    Country:
    United States
    I see. Yeah, after I updated to 4.1U, everything ran fine. But after running the IOS60 patcher by mistake, it got me back to the HBC and when I exited, it was black. So I restarted the Wii and it loaded up to the black screen. Wii's out of warrenty, so I have to pay regardless.

    Thanks for replying! Guess I'll have to send it in and play dumb about it. Are they going to say anything about have HBC or something "illegal" in their eyes?
     
  7. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Nah, they'll just delete it and charge you around 75 bucks (I heard its 80 now).
     
  8. ShadowNeko003
    OP

    Member ShadowNeko003 ~Nyah~

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    302
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks illinialex24! Appreciate everyone's help! Time to send it in then.

    EDIT: Total cost: $75 for repair +$10 shipping + $8.29 tax = $93.29

    edit2: and they're not gonna say anything or do anything if they see that I installed Pokemon Ranch, FF4 After Years, etc via wad manager?
     

Share This Page