Wii Black Screen

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Kramzy, Jul 31, 2008.

Jul 31, 2008

Wii Black Screen by Kramzy at 10:39 PM (3,340 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. Kramzy
    OP

    Newcomer Kramzy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    South Park
    Country:
    Slovenia
    I have a problem with my wii and i was wondering if any of you can help me
    When I turn the Wii on, after I press A on the health/safety screen,
    the Wii freezes. I tried waiting for 20 min. and nothing happend, upluged/pluged
    countless times, tried maintenance mode but couldn't get to the menu screen.
    So do you have the solution for this problem.
     
  2. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Your Wii is bricked. What did you do before you last turned it off?
     
  3. Kramzy
    OP

    Newcomer Kramzy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    South Park
    Country:
    Slovenia
    well i installed a wad using wad installer there were no problems with the installation
    and when it says to press RESET i pressed reset and then this happened
    so is my wii bricked?[​IMG]
     
  4. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    yup... your screwed... buy a mod chip, and run an autoboot of Zelda to get the hack to uninstall that wad...
     
  5. Kramzy
    OP

    Newcomer Kramzy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    South Park
    Country:
    Slovenia
    ok im gonna try it
     
  6. Kramzy
    OP

    Newcomer Kramzy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    South Park
    Country:
    Slovenia
    no doesn't work
     
  7. atomiccow

    Newcomer atomiccow Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    What?
    You have to buy a mod chip.
    I don't see how you could have obtained one overnight.

    You have to buy a modchip, download a version of Zelda and patch it to autoboot, and then pray that you still have the Twilight Hack save still on your Wii. There's an application you have to run to remove wads, in this case the wad that bricked your Wii.
     
  8. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did you create the WAD yourself? If not, what was it?

    @atomiccow:
    How do you know that he doesn't already have a drive chip?
     
  9. Kramzy
    OP

    Newcomer Kramzy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    South Park
    Country:
    Slovenia
    no i alredy had a modchip a wiifree mod chip 2.45 and
    yes i made the wad with autowad injector tried the autoboot patch & bootme aplication
    with zelda didn't work. So i was wondering if there is a way i can format my wii some other
    way.
     
  10. NeSchn

    Member NeSchn GBAPimpdaddy.

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,533
    Location:
    Troy,New York PimpStatus: King
    Country:
    United States
    It looks like your screwed bro, I would either call Nintendo and tell them "One day it just stopped working, It just comes up with a black screen when I turn it on."

    Or buy a refurbished drive from:
    http://www.modchipcentral.com/store/Replac...Drive-p-86.html

    ^^^^^
    I got my modchip from there. Its a great site.
     
  11. Kramzy
    OP

    Newcomer Kramzy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    South Park
    Country:
    Slovenia
    but what if i erase all data from the wii manually
    somehow, i mean is there a program that can erase
    all data if you put it on the wii
     
  12. alex

    Member alex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Country:
    United States
    Doesn't it still stay, like they say to use a wad uninstaller for stuff like that. But that would be useful to bricked Wii consoles since it might unbrick it in an emergency.
     
  13. Kramzy
    OP

    Newcomer Kramzy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    South Park
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Nope i put the wad uninstaller to my sd card run the autoboot of zelda doesn't start
     
  14. Sonicandtails

    Member Sonicandtails GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    United States
    That's weird. The autoboot should work. Wonder what's wrong...
     
  15. Kramzy
    OP

    Newcomer Kramzy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    South Park
    Country:
    Slovenia
    what's wrong is that the screen freezes instantly i press the a button on my wii mote
    but the light on the wii mote still stays on when the screen freezes and i can hear that
    the disc is spinning in the drive when the screen freezes
     
  16. Dack

    Member Dack GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    603
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would say try disconnecting the mod chip to start with and see if you get any further (I'd also update the chip to Yaosm to avoid the 001 error, but I digress).

    If the chip is trying to write to the drive while the borked Wii is trying to start then you might be in the odd situation where you've got a deadlock and both are trying to access the same resource at the same time.
     
  17. Kramzy
    OP

    Newcomer Kramzy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    South Park
    Country:
    Slovenia
    ok gonna try it
     
  18. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A. Do you have Twilight Hack on your wii?
    B. Maybe you should try Wad Manager autoboot iso (unless you're on 3.3)
     
  19. Kramzy
    OP

    Newcomer Kramzy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    South Park
    Country:
    Slovenia
    im on 3.3
    and autoboot doesn't work
     

Share This Page