Wii Black Bar

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by cooldudechand, Sep 19, 2009.

Sep 19, 2009

Wii Black Bar by cooldudechand at 5:48 PM (1,209 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. cooldudechand
    OP

    Member cooldudechand GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    Sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi
    I bought cheap component cable from ebay..... i plugged it in and selected 480p in the settings menu
    but whenever i run some games or geexbox or Mplayer CE i have black bars at left and right side...
    I have widescreen HDTV

    So any help will be appreciated on how to fix these black bars.....

    They dint use to appera when i used the RGB cables..
     
  2. ozguy

    Member ozguy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    232
    Country:
    United States
    Did you choose Widescreen as well?
    It is a seperate setting to the 480p setting.
     
  3. cooldudechand
    OP

    Member cooldudechand GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    Sydney
    Country:
    Australia
  4. Eddie_Brock

    Member Eddie_Brock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    Country:
    Canada
    First off, some games will never play in widescreen, regardless of your settings. Get used to it.

    Secondly, Geexbox and MPlayer are both customizable with how they display on your screen. Check the settings in both programs to confirm that they are set properly for your display. Also, try connecting a nunchuck to your Wiimote, and you are able to expand, contract your video window using the nunchuck control pad. Use the Dpad to adjust the position. I had to do this to my Mplayer to get it to properly display 'fullscreen' on my widescreen TV. Give it a try, I'm not 100% that the same applies for Geexbox, but thats what did the trick for me in MPlayer_CE.
     
  5. cooldudechand
    OP

    Member cooldudechand GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    Sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    Yea thanx for the nunchuck thingy...... but is there anyway i can save it so its same every time instead of doing it every time...
     
  6. Eddie_Brock

    Member Eddie_Brock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm not sure on this one... I know that in MPlayer_CE, once I adjusted the settings to how I liked them with the Wiimote + Nunchuck, they remained untouched, until I updated the program. One would think that they would auto-save your adjustments, but I could be wrong.
     

Share This Page