Wii bad download : Is it true?

Discussion in 'Wii - Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection' started by Saturnplanet5, Nov 23, 2006.

Nov 23, 2006
  1. Saturnplanet5
    OP

    Member Saturnplanet5 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    652
    Country:
    Australia
    I read on another site that some Wii users who hooked up to update their system online got a bad download that caused a loop type error that bricked thier Wii. Is this true? If you were affected what actually happened?
     
  2. decript

    Member decript A melon a day, keeps t3h monkey away

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    709
    Location:
    http://decript.\o/
    Country:
    Canada
    This didn't happen to me nor all of my buddies. I think its really a small percentage of units that have this fuck-up.
     
  3. sQa5r

    Member sQa5r GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    364
    Country:
    Denmark
    If that thing happens, Im sure Nintendo will be happy to replace your Wii.
     
  4. Jax

    Member Jax Pip Pip Cheerioink!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,092
    Location:
    L.A.V.
    Country:
    Portugal
    I hope Big N will fix this for the European release.
     
  5. magebarf

    Newcomer magebarf Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Sweden
    As I understood it the wii wasn't completely bricked.

    Allthough, the only part that stopped working was the network functionality, so there was/is no way to fix it without sending the console to Nintendo to fix it for you.
     
  6. Vater Unser

    Member Vater Unser GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,184
    Location:
    Pen Island
    Country:
    Germany
    I hope this won't happen to me, because sending the Wii from Europe to the US would be pretty expensive 8[
     
  7. sQa5r

    Member sQa5r GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    364
    Country:
    Denmark
    Im pretty sure you lose your warranty when you import a gamesystem from US to Europe... so I cross my fingers for you m8.

    May Vater Unser's Wii(ner) be unbricked when he loses his Wiiginity!!

    :crossedfingers:

    XXXXXXXXXXX
     
  8. ugly_rose

    Member ugly_rose GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    521
    Country:
    Sweden
    It is correct that it seem to be only a SELECT few who have this issue but how they were selected is beyond me.
     
  9. dafatkid27

    Member dafatkid27 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    486
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, this happened to my friend. But Nintendo's being really nice about it and are replacing his (and other people's) for free. [​IMG]
     
  10. unusername

    Member unusername GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    ViƱa del Mar
    Country:
    Chile
    In my first upgrading, i have the error, but in the second try... all have been right...


    the new menu design, the new options and internet working....

    but, sometimes i have the error that ask to eject the dvd and turn off the wii...

    seems to be normal to me
     
  11. peatsk8boi

    Newcomer peatsk8boi Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    It's not happend to me [​IMG]
     
  12. AshuraZro

    Member AshuraZro Belongs in a museum.

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,409
    Location:
    Stoney Creek, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    Kinda of a couple months late there, buddy. [​IMG]

    I remember when I opened mine and tried to update. The system just crashed 5 times in a row then it finally started. Took almost 20 minutes though.
     

Share This Page