Wii #1340 - Takt of Magic (Japan)

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Chanser, May 20, 2009.

May 20, 2009
  1. Chanser
    OP

    Member Chanser :o

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,648
    Country:
    Macau
    ^^wiirelease-2236^^
     
  2. Azariel_z

    Member Azariel_z GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    Turkey
    Is this like lost magic on the NDS?
     
  3. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    What Hadrian said in his week topic:

    In Tact of Magic, you take control of Orwell and Sharlot, two childhood friends who, for a reason that's currently unclear, face off on the battle field against monsters and enemy soldiers. In gameplay, you hold the Wiimote like a wand and draw out shapes to perform magic. The game includes over 100 spells. In addition to casting magic, you also control a battle party, whom you direct on the battle field from an overhead perspective.

    It got some good scores in Japan all saying that its very good but nothing special. The game is said to be a spiritual successor to the decent DS game LostMagic. I know nothing else but Nintendo are said to show and tell more at E3 this year.
     
  4. --JoCa--

    Member --JoCa-- GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    235
    Location:
    Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    Loved Lost Magic (got 2 originals XD).

    I'm gonna for this one!
     
  5. Azariel_z

    Member Azariel_z GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    Turkey

    Cool, and while Square-Enix let its mages dry out somewhere , other people get serious and do games like this...
     
  6. rootbeerking

    Newcomer rootbeerking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    is anyone else getting a green screen on this game?
     
  7. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Try running the game through Gecko OS, that may solve the problem.
    The green screen probably means you are running a backup that isn't from your region.
    Even if you patched it with a tool, sometimes it doesn't work. With Gecko OS, it should work.
     
  8. Majin Vegeta

    Member Majin Vegeta GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    Germany
    Oww, seems it doesn't work with USB Loader. I don't want to use DVDs again, just because of 1 game >_>
    NTSC gives black screen
    PAL60 gives flashing screen
    PAL50 gives green screen
    No workaround for USB Loaders?
     
  9. rootbeerking

    Newcomer rootbeerking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    I also tried using menu loader, the splash screen played alright, but when I launch the game from the disc channel it tells me there was an error and to eject the disc and restart the game. Is there no way to play this game through a back up?
     
  10. Majin Vegeta

    Member Majin Vegeta GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    Germany
    It works fine from Disc Channel for me.
    Just burn it untouched and use something like StarFall/StartPatch or Preloader to block the update.

    As for USB Loader... I tried patching 002 error, patching 001 error, changing language to japanese, enabling VIDTV patch, patching the game to PAL, nothing worked...
     
  11. rootbeerking

    Newcomer rootbeerking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    Majin what system menu are you using?
     
  12. Majin Vegeta

    Member Majin Vegeta GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    Germany
    Forgot to tell that I have a Wiikey.
    So I guess the game is completely softmod-blocked?

    My Menu is 4.0, but I don't think that matters.
     
  13. rootbeerking

    Newcomer rootbeerking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    oh yeah, that'll do it. I don't had a modchip in my console. I guess i'll just have to wait for an update to the back up launcher, or whatever fixes problems like this. Thanks for the info though!
     
  14. kyogc

    Member kyogc GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    324
    Country:
    Taiwan
    Have you tried to install cIOS55(with dip patch) and used SoftChip to boot from IOS55? It should work.
     
  15. Ricj

    Newcomer Ricj Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    Sadly, nothing seems to work outside of USB...

    i have a 3.1u here, can play anything (even the Monster Hunter 3 Demo runs fine, same with Madworld, And most recent games)

    I tried Wiifrii to patch this from NTSC - J to NTSC - U, tried BrickBlock, Tried Force Video, Tried Ios Patch (to 30)... locked in a green screen.

    No way around it i guess....

    Also, does gecko os 1.9.1 is already with the #002 fix in it? Because i just Use gamma so far...
     
  16. cake_of_doom

    Newcomer cake_of_doom Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    gecko os 1.9.1 works.

    I also have to say that this game is pretty nice. Good single player, good wifi, and one of the few wii games that takes advantage of the wii remote capabilities without feeling gimmicky.
     
  17. bebpo

    Newcomer bebpo Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I wonder if this means all major Japanese games from now on will not work with usbloader due to a new copy protection. Arc Rise Fantasia comes out this week and it should show if Nintendo has defeated softmods or if Takt of Magic was just a fluke.
     

Share This Page