Wii #1244 - Mario Power Tennis *PROPER* (USA)

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Chanser, Mar 14, 2009.

Mar 14, 2009
  1. Chanser
    OP

    Member Chanser :o

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,648
    Country:
    Macau
    ^^wiirelease-2093^^
     


  2. Lakerfanalways

    Member Lakerfanalways GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    825
    Country:
    United States
    Hopefully this one works..since the last one turned out to be nuked..Thanks for posting this
     
  3. Lubbo

    Member Lubbo GBAtemp Traceur

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    895
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    why is it proper? and was the PAL one nuked or NTSC?
     
  4. Lakerfanalways

    Member Lakerfanalways GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    825
    Country:
    United States
    The NTSC one was nuked..I'm assuming this Proper one is the right one..
     
  5. Tozarian

    Member Tozarian GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Canada
    What was wrong with the other one?
     
  6. Lakerfanalways

    Member Lakerfanalways GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    825
    Country:
    United States
    It was nuked..bogus release..has anyone tried this Proper one to see if it works?
     
  7. Heran Bago

    Member Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,851
    Location:
    Foggy California
    Country:
    United States
    The old one:

    Nuked: not.working.bad.dump_image.is.beta_i44.tinypic.com.oiekae.png_same.header.as.Tri ial.Pursuit.USA.but.different.crc


    So yeah, same header as Trivial Pursuit but different checksum. Maybe it worked, but this release is the proper one.
     
  8. NickW

    Newcomer NickW Newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    I can confirm that this release works.

    The controls for this game don't really seem to be as bad as everyone says. Sure, Nintendo should have left in the option to play with a Gamecube controller, but the Wii controls work ok.
     
  9. Sick Wario

    Member Sick Wario Club Nintendo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,209
    Location:
    NNID: godrugal
    Country:
    United Arab Emirates
    brickblocked works fine on 3.2u wiikey

    my question is why this game has a system update but pikmin did not?
     
  10. Lakerfanalways

    Member Lakerfanalways GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    825
    Country:
    United States
    This game had a system update? I remove all updates anyway so to me its no biggie, but I wonder why
     
  11. Lazycus

    Member Lazycus Rotten

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    871
    Country:
    United States
    This one has 3.4U and of course all the latest IOS up to IOS55. It only wants IOS33 to run though.
     
  12. Lakerfanalways

    Member Lakerfanalways GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    825
    Country:
    United States
    I'm already running 3.4U on my Wii, so do I have anything to worry about or should I just use brick blocker as always and run the game?
     
  13. bobone123

    Newcomer bobone123 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    I hope it will works, but i don't understand how I can download the file. Where's the link?
     
  14. Chanser
    OP

    Member Chanser :o

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,648
    Country:
    Macau
    We don't host them here for obvious reasons.
     
  15. Hipnotikal

    Newcomer Hipnotikal Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    cool tennis games on the wii are the best
     
  16. kpoulton

    Newcomer kpoulton Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm on 3.3U and tried adding IOS33-64-v2832.wad and the game still wants me to do a system update. Any idea what other specific IOS's it's looking for?
     
  17. Lou M

    Newcomer Lou M Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    I'm new to this stuff, so if some of these questions have been answered before, sorry. My buddy (also new to this) DL'd Mario Power Tennis PROPER (USA). We both have NTSC/USA Wii's with Wikey2 chips. We've already played many DL'd games, without any problems. This is the first game that asked for the system to be updated. He ran the .iso through Brick Blocker and it said it was NTSC/USA. From what we read, if your Wii and the game are both NTSC/USA, you shouldn't have any problems with doing the update. Well, he did the update and the Wii seemed to freeze (black screen). Tried cycling the power and trying another game (Wii sports that came with the Wii). Still nothing. He got on-line and found some info about semi-bricking and followed the instuctions to fix this problem. He finally got his Wii working again. So, my questions are, should updating be avoided? If you don't update, is the game playable? If he did the "Patch" in Brick Blocker, would that have helped? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  18. Lazycus

    Member Lazycus Rotten

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    871
    Country:
    United States
    Like I said, it has all the latest IOSs on it. Even though it only requires IOS33 to run it will want you to do a system update for everything in the update partition that doesn't exist on your Wii or exists on your Wii with a lower version number. Is there any reason you want to stay at 3.3U? If not, just let it update your system to 3.4U and update/add the other IOSs. If you want to stay at 3.3U you will have to brickblock it (remove the update partition) and probably remove the #002 error protection as well.
     
  19. kpoulton

    Newcomer kpoulton Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Canada
    Reason for staying at 3.3U is to not have to copy the Twilight Princess save game over every time I want to install a WAD. Also protect against Nintendo doing updates to my Wii without me knowing which I believe they put in the 3.4U release notes.

    I may just suck it up and do a 3.4U update but I'd rather just replace a few IOS' if that is easy.

    My next research is to find a utility to display what version of IOS' I currently have on my Wii.
     
  20. samung_lcdtv

    Newcomer samung_lcdtv Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Did anyone try to run the system update to 3.4U and was successful?

    Any feedback would be great.

    Thanks.
     

Share This Page