wifi R4i Revolution Upgrade V1.4.1

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Shandyerlock, Dec 4, 2011.

Dec 4, 2011
  1. Shandyerlock
    OP

    Newcomer Shandyerlock Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi

    Both my sons had DSi XL on V 1.4.3E. Both also had the R4i Upgrade Revolution card V1.4.1. I managed to upgrade both cards using a friend's DSi. Recently had to replace one DSi XL and the card no longer works.

    Tried the previous fix with friend's DSi again but it doesn't show me the Start button when I try and upgrade the R4i to the latest version (1.48b I believe).

    Have also tried on an a different DSi to no avail.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Cheers all

    Andy
     
  2. jimmyemunoz

    Member jimmyemunoz GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,958
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    I'm assuming it doesn't show the "start" button because the firmware is already updated. When you put the flash card in the "new" DSi XL you do see the icon of the flash card correct? Does the flash card in general work but you are having problems updating to 1.48b? By the way what is the website on the bottom of the front sticker of your card, is it www.r4i-sdhc.com, like I'm thinking?
     
  3. Buleste

    Member Buleste Old Fart

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    852
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Go to the website on the front of your cart and download the latest kernel from there.
     
  4. Shandyerlock
    OP

    Newcomer Shandyerlock Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for your replies guys.

    @Jimmyemunoz
    Both cards were on the same firmware level but since getting the new DSi XL, the card shows as Alex Rider Stormbreaker. The "Good" R4i card plays fine on both the older XL and the new one. Also, the good one gives the "MIami Nights" gamecard logo. The "Bad" one gives the Black screen with the white text "An error has occurred" message.
    I've attempted to use 1.43b as this is the firmware version on the working R4i but still doesn't give me the option to upgrade.

    @Buleste and @Jimmyemunoz
    It is www.r4i-sdhc.com and that is where I've been getting the system files from. I always keep these files and as said above, even resorted to trying V1.43b as that is ok on the working R4i, alas to no avail!

    Thinking might need to invest £20 in a new one :-(

    Again,
    Thanks for your responses
     
  5. jimmyemunoz

    Member jimmyemunoz GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,958
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, Ive heard people couldn't update with some of the newer update files but 1.42 was the one that fixed the problem. I would try that if I was you. And that card can be bought for $7.50 at lightake.com, by the way.
     
  6. jimmyemunoz

    Member jimmyemunoz GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,958
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    Go here for the file that you need. It's 1.42B and it addressed the problem you're speaking of. You'll see that when you click the link.
     
  7. Buleste

    Member Buleste Old Fart

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    852
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you tried the "bad cart in a DS/DSlite and gone to the settings menu and tried the firmware update (you can download the kernel from the www.r4i-sdhc.com website but the firmware update has to be done via the DS's Wi-Fi and the settings menu. The full instructions of what to do are on the www.r4i-sdhc.com website). I suspect when you have tried 1.43 you are on about the kernel 1.43b which will do nothing to update your flashcart to work on the DSi firmware 1.4.3. Don't waste money on buying a new cart until you have tried what I have just said.
     
  8. Shandyerlock
    OP

    Newcomer Shandyerlock Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for your time again Guys.
    I have already done what you're suggesting. The 1.42b link posted gives exactly the same result. I am trying to do the firmware update in a DS Lite but as soon as I click on Upgrade, the only button that appears is "Back". I have also tried this in a DSi with the same result.
    @Buleste
    Can you tell me the exact link for the full instructions? If it's the one where it shows a screenshot showing how to upgrade the firmware, it's no use as it is the one I have been referring to the whole time.

    Maybe time to change to a cart that allows you to upgrade via a mini USB cable with the PC..........
     

Share This Page