Wifi in all homebrew fails

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Mozgus, Mar 31, 2010.

Mar 31, 2010

Wifi in all homebrew fails by Mozgus at 6:22 AM (1,338 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. Mozgus
    OP

    Newcomer Mozgus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    Wifi functions work fine in all games, so my router cant be the issue. I've tried dldi patching homebrew apps despite knowing that DSTT/YSMENU auto patches. I patched with supercard's dldi file as well as the one on Yasu's site. The homebrew apps run fine and everything, but they always just fail to connect to anything. DSOrganize cant do IRC or web browser, despite opera web browsing fine.

    I am specifically looking to gain FTP transfer ability so I can update the 3 DSTT files wirelessly each time they come out.

    I read that all homebrew built on dswifi 0.3c and earlier will fail but dswifi 0.3d should work. Well I tried downloading apps that use dswifi 0.3d like DSFTP 2.6 and it still fails all the same.

    What is going on here?
     
  2. Xenon++

    Member Xenon++ Taiju Yamada

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,394
    Country:
    Japan
    You have to allow Any connection (make the router "searchable").
     
  3. ChuckMcB

    Member ChuckMcB GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    To expand on what Xenon++ says: Temporarily drop all security on your router (put it back, ensure that it's SSID is not hidden, give your DS a fixed IP address and specify the DNS servers. (it's a pain to set up but once you have it both your Homebrew and retail games will work no problem)

    More help here, but come back and let us know how you got on.
     
  4. Xenon++

    Member Xenon++ Taiju Yamada

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,394
    Country:
    Japan
    Well, at least don't forget to set 128bit WEP.
     
  5. ChuckMcB

    Member ChuckMcB GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would always recommend not setting any security temporarily until folks finish trouble shooting.
     
  6. Mozgus
    OP

    Newcomer Mozgus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    Are you guys saying that homebrew apps just dont support wireless security or what? Like I said, all my games do. I run 128 WEP with SSID broadcast disabled and mac address filtering. My DS already uses a static IP setup like everything else on my network.

    But fine, I'll try turning off security for a min.
     
  7. Searinox

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    Had this problem. My case was that it seems the libs homebrew makers use don't deal well with some wifi channels. Change your router broadcast channel to somewhere between 1 and 11 and avoid higher numbers.
     
  8. Mozgus
    OP

    Newcomer Mozgus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, its the broadcasting. SSID must be broadcast for homebrew to work. That kinda sucks. It's bad enough I have to stay on WEP here just because of the DS. Thanks regardless.
     
  9. ChuckMcB

    Member ChuckMcB GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I said (twice [​IMG] ) that you should turn off wireless security just for troubleshooting.

    Glad you got sorted.

    Only being able to use WEP was a concern to me as well, I ended up getting a cheap DD-WRT compatible router that I could set up as a access point, stuck it on a separate sub-net away from the rest of my network, closed down all ports but what I need and limited traffic to 11k. That means if someone goes to the effort of cracking my WEP password they will end up with a deadly slow internet connection with just post 80 open (and no port 443/25)
     
  10. Mozgus
    OP

    Newcomer Mozgus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    Do you think WEP with mac address filtering is enough?
     
  11. Searinox

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    I use it and never got cracked. Sure it is. Also you can turn off DHCP and set fixed IPs. Most people who want to crack a network just hit all those issues, having to manually input IP and DNS and spoof MACs and such and they just say "fuck it imma look for an easier to hack network".
     
  12. ChuckMcB

    Member ChuckMcB GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's impossible to answer, you just have to make up your own mind if the risks are worth the benefits.

    Personally I don't bother with mac filtering, the Linux live CDs you can use for WEP cracking come with apps to fake mac addresses (then they flood the real machine off the network allow the attacker's machine with it's new 'authorised' mac to connect), so it will not keep the determined out.

    (sorry Searinox, I was typing while you had submitted your reply.)
     
  13. Mozgus
    OP

    Newcomer Mozgus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    If only Nintendo could come to terms with wireless (and internet) technology instead of catastrophically failing at it every single time.
     
  14. fearofshorts

    Member fearofshorts GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    There is no way to perfectly secure ANY network. Even WPA2 with AES can be cracked.
    However, as they say, 'when fleeing a bear, you only have to run faster than the slowest person'. Searinox is right.

    One thing I look forward to seeing are the dual-band networks that 802.11n are providing become more commonly used. You're able to have one of the networks configured with less security (say, just WEP for the DS), and have a higher-speed N network for your main systems- complete with a crapload of security. This way, the worst case scenario will be people stealing your internet access, not people breaking into your computers for kicks and trashing them.

    As an Aussie (where bandwidth is really restrictive and internet speeds are terrible) I can't really afford to allow others to steal my internet, but one day (when the new, government-created Australian optic-fibre-to-the-home network is finished) I hope to set up this system.
     

Share This Page