Wierd Wiikey Problem

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by indiraider, May 15, 2008.

May 15, 2008

Wierd Wiikey Problem by indiraider at 3:31 AM (867 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. indiraider
    OP

    Newcomer indiraider Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Hello

    I self installed my wiikey when they first came out on a system that came out at launch. Everything has been great since then. But recently when I sometimes boot up Super Mario Kart (it way be the same but that is the only game I am playing right now [​IMG] ) it gives me the ‘unauthorized device’ error that started from the Super Mario Galaxy days. Then when I force the system off then reboot the games loads perfectly. WTF?. Now I didn't install the newest update for SSBB. I think it might be a bad solder (but it is weird that my solders help for almost a year then became cold). I am really left at a loss of what to do. Should I open up my system and re solder the wiikey, is the chip going bad, or should I flash to the newest update?

    Thanks
     
  2. dimmujed

    Member dimmujed GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    United States
    You need to update the firmware on the chip. Check out wiikey.cn (at least that's what I think it is) to get the newest firmware and config disc. Burn them to a dvd and pop them in and follow directions and u'll be on ur way.

    Also install the newest firmware updates for the wii too. I have a Wiikey as well.
     
  3. indiraider
    OP

    Newcomer indiraider Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    I did the beta super mario galaxy update already though
     
  4. Lazycus

    Member Lazycus Rotten

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    871
    Country:
    United States
    It's happened to many people with 1.9g and 1.9s. Nothing wrong with your WiiKey. There have been a few threads about it.
     
  5. indiraider
    OP

    Newcomer indiraider Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Thanks for the info. I didn't see any threads. Too wrapped up in figuring out the problem. I knew that it was installed correctly because I am a kick ass installer.
     

Share This Page