Why wont my wii recognize my usb stick?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by shonosuke, Nov 26, 2011.

Nov 26, 2011
  1. shonosuke
    OP

    Member shonosuke GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    452
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I have a launch wii and havent touched my wii in a while. I used to use neogamma to launch dvds but I want to use usb now.

    1.Formatted my Duracel 16gb usb stick (compatible) to WTFS with WTFS manager 3.0
    2.Installed those d2x CIOS files
    3.Launched USB launcher GX through homebrew channel
    4.USB stick is not found error

    Neogamma also doesnt detect it. What am I doing wrong?
     
  2. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,352
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    NTFS and WBFS aren't the best choices for homebrew in general. Try formatting to FAT32 since it's the most homebrew-friendly format. Believe me, this is something I learned the hard way.
     
  3. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,731
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Which USB port are you using, and have you set the Partition right in USB Launcher GX? Have you tried WiiFLOW? I've never had any problems with NTFS/WBFS and those are my two "default" choices since I don't like having to split dual-layer games.
     
  4. shonosuke
    OP

    Member shonosuke GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    452
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Now its recognized but USB GX sends me back to HBC when starting a game
     
  5. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    format to fat32 and check that HBC sees it

    then start some usb loader and try to rip a game to it
     
  6. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,731
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Check if IOS Reload is enabled or disabled, check the Default IOS settings and ensure it is set to a cIOSX slot and reload is in "off" position. If it starts loading then the stick is okay, it's a matter of settings/IOS'es.
     

Share This Page