Why won't backups run at 6x without a modchip?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by piratesmack, May 28, 2009.

  1. piratesmack
    OP

    Member piratesmack GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    $(pwd)
    Country:
    United States
    Just something I've been wondering
     
  2. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    as I understand it, softmod forces the dvd drive into video dvd mode and that's hardware limited to 3x
     
  3. mikeyt1998

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,359
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    but it plays originials at 6x apperently, why is that?

    maybe i just dont understand what kedest said lol
     
  4. piratesmack
    OP

    Member piratesmack GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    $(pwd)
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks

    Yeah, I just read that after like 2 seconds of Googling,
    Looks like this gets asked a lot, sorry everyone
     
  5. GBAtempHATER

    Banned GBAtempHATER Banned

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Imagine that YOu didnt use the search first this place sucks
    Its so fucking slow because of noob topic like this.
     
  6. Ilive2frag

    Newcomer Ilive2frag Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    Canada
    You can run backups at 6x or faster using the usb loader.[​IMG]
     
  7. cthg

    Member cthg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United States
    Fact: The wii was made to play DVD videos but only at 3x speed...

    The cios or loader or something tricks the wii into thinking the backup is a dvd video but it can only read it at 3x
     

Share This Page