Homebrew Question Why use Daybreak to update firmware?

Windsall

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2021
Messages
160
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
71
Country
Canada
That is correct. There are only three ways to boot CFW:
  1. RCM exploit (requires a way to enter RCM and a payload sent over USB).
  2. Software exploit (limited to very low system versions and comporting low fuse counts) (must be launched manually from the web browser or news app after each coldboot)
  3. Modchip

Thanks I appreciate knowing. And I'm assuming I wouldnt be able to play games or online that need later versions.with option 2.

That settles it I just need to accept thats the exploit and way to do things.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Same, I use Nintendo to update my regular partition for online use, boot into my completely offline emunand and use Daybreak to update.

Ah. Is that the only safe way to update the emunand? unless theres something other than daybreak.

(I'm new and figuring out the basics)
 
Last edited by Windsall,

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
17,130
Trophies
2
XP
16,263
Country
United States
Thanks I appreciate knowing. And I'm assuming I wouldnt be able to play games or online that need later versions.with option 2.

That settles it I just need to accept thats the exploit and way to do things.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------



Ah. Is that the only safe way to update the emunand? unless theres something other than daybreak.

(I'm new and figuring out the basics)
With Option 2, you would never update your sysMMC, but you could have one or two emuMMC's that are kept up to date.
 

Windsall

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2021
Messages
160
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
71
Country
Canada
With Option 2, you would never update your sysMMC, but you could have one or two emuMMC's that are kept up to date.

Hmmmm interesting. so technically someone could use the software exploit to play whatever they want, just not online.
 

Windsall

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2021
Messages
160
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
71
Country
Canada
A person using Option 2 could have one emuMMC that's kept clean, up to date, and used for online play.

Ah. I thought it being an emunand (and using atmosphere?) could be enough to receive a ban.

There's so much I dont know lol.
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
17,130
Trophies
2
XP
16,263
Country
United States
Ah. I thought it being an emunand (and using atmosphere?) could be enough to receive a ban.

There's so much I dont know lol.
One can use Hekate to boot an emuMMC as near-stock without Atmosphere, and even if one were to use Atmosphere, Atmosphere itself doesn't carry much of a ban risk if one isn't using homebrew or pirated/custom titles.
 

Windsall

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2021
Messages
160
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
71
Country
Canada
One can use Hekate to boot an emuMMC as near-stock without Atmosphere, and even if one were to use Atmosphere, Atmosphere itself doesn't carry much of a ban risk if one isn't using homebrew or pirated/custom titles.

Ok. This is sounding attractive at least for me to look into. Is there maybe a guide for how to do this?
I'll list what I'm thinking:

1) My switch was factory reset, so I should technically be able to use the software exploit, right?
2) If I can use the exploit and easily go into either the clean emunand or the mod emunand, I could get into either without a payload.
3) If I put it asleep once it's loaded, I should be able to have the same ease of easily getting back to the one I went to after waking it.
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
17,130
Trophies
2
XP
16,263
Country
United States
Ok. This is sounding attractive at least for me to look into. Is there maybe a guide for how to do this?
I'll list what I'm thinking:

1) My switch was factory reset, so I should technically be able to use the software exploit, right?
2) If I can use the exploit and easily go into either the clean emunand or the mod emunand, I could get into either without a payload.
3) If I put it asleep once it's loaded, I should be able to have the same ease of easily getting back to the one I went to after waking it.
Your system must be on a very low system version to use a software exploit. If the sysMMC is on anything higher than 4.1.0, you cannot use a software exploit.
 

Windsall

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2021
Messages
160
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
71
Country
Canada
Your system must be on a very low system version to use a software exploit. If the sysMMC is on anything higher than 4.1.0, you cannot use a software exploit.

It's the firmware version right? not the serial numbers and all that.

So, if it's at 4.1.0 or lower, I should be able to do it like I'm thinking?
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
17,130
Trophies
2
XP
16,263
Country
United States
It's the firmware version right? not the serial numbers and all that.

So, if it's at 4.1.0 or lower, I should be able to do it like I'm thinking?
Yes, but the Switch must be on 4.1.0, it must have a fuse count of 5 or fewer, and you will require an internet connection to launch CFW.
 

Windsall

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2021
Messages
160
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
71
Country
Canada
Yes, but the Switch must be on 4.1.0, it must have a fuse count of 5 or fewer, and you will require an internet connection to launch CFW.

Oh dang, you mean you always need it to be connected to the internet to activate the software exploit for the cfw? (like each time?)
 
Last edited by Windsall,

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
17,130
Trophies
2
XP
16,263
Country
United States
Oh dang, you mean you always need it to be connected to the internet to activate the software exploit for the cfw? (like each time?)
Anytime you coldboot the system, you need an internet connection to enter CFW and/or one of your emuMMC's.

A software exploit is generally only recommended for people with systems that are ipatched (which are not RCM exploitable) and on 4.1.0. The RCM exploit (on RCM vulnerable consoles, of course) is recommended. You almost never need to enter RCM after you've done it once. Just leave the Switch in sleep mode and docked when you're not using it. You only need to enter RCM and push a payload when coldbooting the system, which is almost never done.
 

Windsall

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2021
Messages
160
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
71
Country
Canada
Anytime you coldboot the system, you need an internet connection to enter CFW and/or one of your emuMMC's.

A software exploit is generally only recommended for people with systems that are ipatched (which are not RCM exploitable) and on 4.1.0. The RCM exploit (on RCM vulnerable consoles, of course) is recommended. You almost never need to enter RCM after you've done it once. Just leave the Switch in sleep mode and docked when you're not using it. You only need to enter RCM and push a payload when coldbooting the system, which is almost never done.

Thanks, I'll stick with the rcm method xD.

Sleep mode uses more energy tho, so if someone wouldn't have it charging in quite a while, it could be annoying to inject a payload being away from a pc.
I'm open to eventually buying a dongle if that works well, though I don't know much about those, like if they just use the systems energy or need some battery of their own, and all that.
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
17,130
Trophies
2
XP
16,263
Country
United States
Thanks, I'll stick with the rcm method xD.

Sleep mode uses more energy tho, so if someone wouldn't have it charging in quite a while, it could be annoying to inject a payload being away from a pc.
I'm open to eventually buying a dongle if that works well, though I don't know much about those, like if they just use the systems energy or need some battery of their own, and all that.
It would generally take over two weeks for a Switch's battery to drain from 100% to 0% while in sleep mode. As long as you're docking the Switch when you're not using it, you shouldn't have any issues.

I've been using my Switch with AutoRCM for years, and it has never once died. Always put it into sleep mode and dock it when you're not using it, and always dock it after it hits 5% when playing in handheld mode. I only ever connect it to my computer when I am updating Atmosphere.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Windsall

Windsall

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2021
Messages
160
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
71
Country
Canada
It would generally take over two weeks for a Switch's battery to drain from 100% to 0% while in sleep mode. As long as you're docking the Switch when you're not using it, you shouldn't have any issues.

I've been using my Switch with AutoRCM for years, and it has never once died. Always put it into sleep mode and dock it when you're not using it, and always dock it after it hits 5% when playing in handheld mode. I only ever connect it to my computer when I am updating Atmosphere.

Ok. I didn't know sleep mode was that good.
I can still picture cases where playing away, where it'd get low because of playing, and then putting it to sleep, i dunno how long it would last if i can't charge it. But anyway now I know my options.

To help get back on topic, I'll ask one last thing, which I was wondering earlier:

Is daybreak the best way to update emunand firmware? Or is there a simpler and better way?
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
17,130
Trophies
2
XP
16,263
Country
United States
Ok. I didn't know sleep mode was that good.
I can still picture cases where playing away, where it'd get low because of playing, and then putting it to sleep, i dunno how long it would last if i can't charge it. But anyway now I know my options.

To help get back on topic, I'll ask one last thing, which I was wondering earlier:

Is daybreak the best way to update emunand firmware? Or is there a simpler and better way?
Daybreak is the best, safest, and easiest way to update the system version of a dirty emuMMC. You shouldn't do it any other way.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Windsall

RamsesII

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
4
Trophies
0
XP
6
Country
Netherlands
Sorry if my question is sidetracking a bit off-topic, but how can i enable my game-card slot now that i updated emuMMC to 12.0.3 with Daybreak?
I want to backup several games to the SD card as i don't want my kids to to loose the original cartridges when we are on vacation, but now i can use the slot lol.

I used ChoiDujourNX in the past (just once to update emuMMC to 10.1.0) and enabled AutoRCM in it, but that one is not longer compatible with the latest Atmosphere 19.x so i had to use Daybreak this time.

Strange thing is the game-card slot used to work on emuMMC 10.1.0 (and Atmosphere 12 or 13 i believe) without problems, but now it is blocked somehow.

Apologies if this question belongs somewhere else (still a newbe)
 

RednaxelaNnamtra

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
1,004
Trophies
0
XP
2,326
Country
Germany
Sorry if my question is sidetracking a bit off-topic, but how can i enable my game-card slot now that i updated emuMMC to 12.0.3 with Daybreak?
I want to backup several games to the SD card as i don't want my kids to to loose the original cartridges when we are on vacation, but now i can use the slot lol.

I used ChoiDujourNX in the past (just once to update emuMMC to 10.1.0) and enabled AutoRCM in it, but that one is not longer compatible with the latest Atmosphere 19.x so i had to use Daybreak this time.

Strange thing is the game-card slot used to work on emuMMC 10.1.0 (and Atmosphere 12 or 13 i believe) without problems, but now it is blocked somehow.

Apologies if this question belongs somewhere else (still a newbe)
You need to disable the no-gc patch for the gamecard reader to work, but after using the Gamecard reader once with a higher firmware you won't be able to use it on a lower firmware version anymore.
How to disable no-gc depends on the way you boot cfw, if you boot directly through hekate, you need to disable it in hekates configuration. If you boot directly through fusee-primary you need to change atmospheres config.


Ah. I thought it being an emunand (and using atmosphere?) could be enough to receive a ban.

There's so much I dont know lol.
Using atmosphere itself it no ban trigger, since its removing most telemetry, and prevents the creation of new logs. Even using homebrew, system modules and custom themes itself will not lead to a ban oven while going online, as long as you are not cheating or hacking in online games, and don't use backups or installeable hombrew (xci or nsp) on the nand you want to go online with. You also shouldn't mix nands online, since that might fuck with some logs making it detacteable, and never start the online nand with prodinfo clearing enabled.
I'm now online while being in atmosphere on my sysnand for a few years now, always using the normal system update mechanism from Nintendo ( in the early days I still needed to manually enter rcm on reboot while updating, to be able to preserve fuses and reenable autorcm).
Both of my switches are still unbanned, and its nice to be able to overclock the switch for better performance, or underclock it for better mobile battery life, or being able to stream games in discord with sysdvr, while playing with friends in the discord ^^
 

Kallim

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2021
Messages
131
Trophies
0
Age
45
XP
199
Country
United Kingdom
Yes, that's what you'll have to do if you update through official means. However, if the goal is to preserve your fuse count, booting into RCM/Hekate before the system boots into Horizon and burns your fuses is a gamble.
Ok

I have 2 questions about that. Firstly if an update detects auto rcm is this a ban risk? And secondly do Nintendo Log who has and hasn't updated (which consoles??). I'm wondering if this could cause a future ban risk with daybreak? The safest way may be to disable autorcm yourself and go official??

If so

I haven't heard of any problems with Daybreak (and don't think there will be)..... but I can see how Nintendo could make one (especially if everyone relies on it). Obviously its for everyone to decide if they want a switch with no burnt fuses or burn the fusses and do it the official way.

And

If the switch doesn't boot into RCM via the JIg you must use Daybreak.

I hope that's right! Please Check.
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
17,130
Trophies
2
XP
16,263
Country
United States
Ok

I have 2 questions about that. Firstly if an update detects auto rcm is this a ban risk? And secondly do Nintendo Log who has and hasn't updated (which consoles??). I'm wondering if this could cause a future ban risk with daybreak? The safest way may be to disable autorcm yourself and go official??

If so

I haven't heard of any problems with Daybreak (and don't think there will be)..... but I can see how Nintendo could make one (especially if everyone relies on it). Obviously its for everyone to decide if they want a switch with no burnt fuses or burn the fusses and do it the official way.

And

If the switch doesn't boot into RCM via the JIg you must use Daybreak.

I hope that's right! Please Check.
In short, AutoRCM doesn't carry a ban risk, but Daybreak definitely does. If your goal is to preserve AutoRCM without getting banned, don't use Daybreak to do it.

Daybreak is for dirty sysMMC's/emuMMC's that don't connect to the internet, are already banned, or have 90DNS/Incognito installed.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Just call me captain stabbin lol