Why the 3DS can't be downgraded on 11.4 "For Dummies" (A simple explanation for the rest of us)

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Swiftloke, Sep 11, 2016.

  1. testing123

    testing123 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    2
    May 7, 2009
    United States
    Oh, so I'd have to legit buy the dsiware game on the Old 3ds XL?
     
  2. goldensun87

    goldensun87 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    2
    Jan 24, 2017
    United States
    Basically, at this point, if you want CFW on 11.4 and up, THERE IS NO FREE METHOD. With that being said, I would recommend NTRBootHax, and purchase the R4i Gold 3DS RTS, because a flashcart that can run DS ROMs after installing B9S, is more worth your money than a worthless DSiWare game that you will never touch. Also, it is a method which does not leave any of your 3DS'es without CFW.
     
    Last edited by goldensun87, Dec 30, 2017
  3. testing123

    testing123 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    2
    May 7, 2009
    United States
    Got it.

    About the NEW 3ds - there's no slot for an SD card. Do I have to unscrew the back and put one in?
     
  4. lone_wolf323

    lone_wolf323 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    6
    May 27, 2011
    Canada
    Plus the fact a recent temper did the dsiwarehax and ninty refused the transfer due to a dsiware game being bought on their console. So if you got a old version console. Your going to be screwed sending to a new version console.

    Ya you gotta open the backplate. The Sd card slot is behind it.
     
    Last edited by lone_wolf323, Dec 30, 2017
    goldensun87 likes this.
  5. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive

    Moderator
    18
    GBAtemp Patron
    Quantumcat is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Nov 23, 2014
    Australia
    Canberra, Australia
    The SD slot is under the back cover.
     
  6. testing123

    testing123 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    2
    May 7, 2009
    United States
    Thanks for everyone's replies. Would 29, 325 blocks be enough to do the full hack on a new 3ds?
     
  7. CrispyCola

    CrispyCola i cant think of a title

    Member
    2
    Feb 8, 2017
    United States
    my 'puter
    More than enough, that’s around 25 gb


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  8. testing123

    testing123 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    2
    May 7, 2009
    United States
    I just hit a roadblock, my source 3ds still has the hourglass loader on it. Meaning I can't get godmode9 to load up by holding start.
     
  9. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive

    Moderator
    18
    GBAtemp Patron
    Quantumcat is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Nov 23, 2014
    Australia
    Canberra, Australia
    Show a screenshot of your luma/payloads folder.
     
  10. testing123

    testing123 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    2
    May 7, 2009
    United States
    Ah I found the old hourglass loader. Thank you.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Spoke too soon. Still can't load godmode9. Even after removing the old hourglass launcher it still just boots normally.

    Root folder:

    [​IMG]

    Luma folder:

    [​IMG]

    Luma payloads:

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by testing123, Dec 30, 2017
  11. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive

    Moderator
    18
    GBAtemp Patron
    Quantumcat is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Nov 23, 2014
    Australia
    Canberra, Australia
    Looks like you have A9LH. You should follow https://3ds.guide/a9lh-to-b9s

    You don't have to update, but if you don't you'll have to adapt the instructions (eg use GodMode9.bin).
     
  12. testing123

    testing123 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    2
    May 7, 2009
    United States
    Bad luck for me, I followed the guide and formatted my SD card...but turns out my backups didn't save right so now I can't get into luma or anything. For all intents it's an unhacked 3ds now.
     
  13. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive

    Moderator
    18
    GBAtemp Patron
    Quantumcat is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Nov 23, 2014
    Australia
    Canberra, Australia
    If you have A9LH, and it isn't booting up, all you have to do is put arm9loaderhax.bin on your SD card. If it does boot up, then you must have it on CTR-NAND. In any case you can still follow https://3ds.guide/a9lh-to-b9s
     
  14. testing123

    testing123 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    2
    May 7, 2009
    United States
    Thanks for the advice. I did put arm9loaderhax.bin back on the SD card root, but unfortunately that didn't change anything and SAfeB9SInstaller won't load when I reboot by holding start. I can still load hourglass.bin if I put it back into Luma/payload but that's about the only thing that does anything.
     
  15. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive

    Moderator
    18
    GBAtemp Patron
    Quantumcat is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Nov 23, 2014
    Australia
    Canberra, Australia
    Is SafeB9SInstaller.bin definitely in your luma/payloads folder? And make sure the folder is called "payloads" not "payload"
     
    Last edited by Quantumcat, Dec 30, 2017
  16. testing123

    testing123 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    2
    May 7, 2009
    United States
    Definitely.

    [​IMG]

    Note that I put all of those to keep testing if anything still worked; even if safebsinstaller.bin is alone in the folder, it still doesn't load with start+power.

    The only .bin that loads in the payloads folder is hourglass, with or without any other .bins in the same folder. It seems formatting the sd card killed luma from this 3ds.
     
  17. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive

    Moderator
    18
    GBAtemp Patron
    Quantumcat is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Nov 23, 2014
    Australia
    Canberra, Australia
    Formatting your card can't change what's installed on your console itself, so don't worry. Are you sure you copied the arm9loaderhax.bin from Luma 7.0.5 and not from an earlier version? What version does it say when you hold Select on boot?

    And what about if you change SafeB9SInstaller.bin to arm9loaderhax.bin and put it on the root of the SD card? In this case it should just boot straight into it instead of showing the home menu.
     
  18. KunoichiZ

    KunoichiZ GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    14
    Mar 16, 2012
    United States
    Make sure you have your Luma version updated to v7.0.5 (the last version to support a9lh) and remove the "start_" from in front of the Hourglass9 bin. Then try to access the chainloader, then SafeB9SInstaller.
     
  19. testing123

    testing123 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    2
    May 7, 2009
    United States
    Ah, thanks KunoichiZ and Quantumcat. So Luma still loads when I had the SD card out and held start or select and it's on 6.3.1.

    So I need to update that somehow?


    I tested the renaming safebs9 and it just caused a black screen, unfortunately.
     
    Last edited by testing123, Dec 30, 2017
  20. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive

    Moderator
    18
    GBAtemp Patron
    Quantumcat is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Nov 23, 2014
    Australia
    Canberra, Australia
    Update to 7.0.5 by copying arm9loaderhax.bin from Luma 7.0.5 https://github.com/AuroraWright/Luma3DS/releases

    Maybe try redownloading SafeB9SInstaller.bin in case maybe it got corrupted?
     
    Last edited by Quantumcat, Dec 30, 2017