Why only cIOSCorp for loading burned games...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by harmor, Feb 4, 2010.

Feb 4, 2010
  1. harmor
    OP

    Member harmor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Country:
    United States
    Why isn't there a single patched IOS we can install to allow burned games to load via Disc Channel instead of using cIOSCorp?
     
  2. jazvdb

    Member jazvdb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Location:
    In front of computer...
    Country:
    United States
    Do you even know what ur talking about?
     
  3. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Because the Disc Channel loads whatever IOS the game calls for, so for example if we have a game that wants IOS53, then it will load IOS53. If there is a regular IOS there, then the game will stop because an original IOS doesn't know how to handle DVD-R. cIOSCORP replaces ALL IOSs with cIOSs so that problem won't occur.
     
  4. harmor
    OP

    Member harmor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Country:
    United States
    I knew cIOSCorp replaces every IOS with a custom IOS but I did not know how the disc channel loaded games.
    Thank you for the explanation.
     
  5. VashTS

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,658
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    Or is it that it knows NOT to load a dvd-r?

    Yeah this post is toast
     
  6. harmor
    OP

    Member harmor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Country:
    United States
    What I assumed happens is that the Disc Channel uses an IOS to launch the game then when the game is launched it reloads to the IOS the game calls for.
     
  7. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    for the same reason people cant shit gold. thats just not how things work. it doesnt matter how much or how nicely you ask for it. it just doesnt work that way.
     
  8. D34DL1N3R

    Member D34DL1N3R Nephilim

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,613
    Country:
    United States
    Instead of cioscorp, patch the discs to 249 and use priiloader to force the disc channel to use 249.
     
  9. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    It IS possible to patch system menu to force disks to use one IOS (i.e. 249) from disk channel, as there used to be preloader hacks for this (I don't think they have been created for 4.2 yet, but I'm pretty sure 4.0 and below had it).

    However, the compatability is far inferior to using cioscorp. You will probably experience error messages on loading many games.
     
  10. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    I just tested the ios249 system menu hack, it is useless. Lego Indiana would not read, Mario Kart tried to load, but crashed after the warning screen. Use a loader installed as a channel, load from usb, or bite the bullet and install cIOSCORP.

    As for what the ios do. The system ios loads the game, which reloads whatever ios it uses. Only one ios can run at any given time.
     
  11. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    doing this will result in a number of #002 errors especially with newer games.
     

Share This Page