Why isn't my softmodded Wii reading any GC games?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Link5084, Jun 28, 2011.

Jun 28, 2011
  1. Link5084
    OP

    Member Link5084 Sword & Shield at your service

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, so my Wii can read Wii games fine, but when I try to put in Gamecube games, it just says

    "An error has occured. Please eject the disc and turn off the Wii and refer to the Wii Operations Manual"

    It does this both to my retail and backup GC games. What could possibly cause this error? Is there a program I might have installed that does this?
     
  2. caffolote

    Member caffolote GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe a program you installed that screws up with this?
     
  3. Link5084
    OP

    Member Link5084 Sword & Shield at your service

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Country:
    United States
    I dont think so, but just in case here's my Preloader settings I have enabled

    Skip disc update check
    Region free channels_1
    Remove diag disc check

    I play only on USB Loader by the way. Are any of these settings screwing with my GC games?
     
  4. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    installed cracked mios?
    tried different loader?
     
  5. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    You must have a really out of date softmod if you are using Preloader. Resoftmod with ModMii and see if that fixes it.
     
  6. Link5084
    OP

    Member Link5084 Sword & Shield at your service

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Country:
    United States
    Where is the cracked mIOS? And this just doesn't happen with backups, it also happens with my retail games as soon as I insert the disc in!

    Also, I'm not sure about ModMii. What will it delete if I try to use it? And does it update to the latest hacks on the Wii?
     
  7. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    ModMii will overwrite your old softmods, updating everything necessary and adding things you might be missing.
     
  8. Link5084
    OP

    Member Link5084 Sword & Shield at your service

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Country:
    United States
    I see, so it won't brick huh. Will this make my Wii read GC games and will it remove Preloader and update it with Priiloader?
     
  9. Red_Gh0st

    Member Red_Gh0st GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    Country:
    United States
    I dont use modmii much so can't tell you if it will remove and install priiloader as you need to reinstall your system menu in order to remove preloader.

    Btw, that error seems like a hardware error to me. Updating the softmod wont change anything. I may be wrong tho.
     
  10. Link5084
    OP

    Member Link5084 Sword & Shield at your service

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Country:
    United States
    How is it a hardware error and what can I do? Also, what improvements that priiloader have?
     
  11. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    It could be a hardware error, but that isn't for sure. I think that you installing a fresh cMIOS (part of ModMii) and updating your softmods all together may fix it.

    Here are changes since Preloader:
    http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Preloader/Priiloader#Changelog
     
  12. Link5084
    OP

    Member Link5084 Sword & Shield at your service

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Country:
    United States
    It worked! Thank you so much JoostinOnline!!!
     

Share This Page