1. PipeWarp

    OP PipeWarp Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2019
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My dsi uses a 32gb card, and i have my nand backup (from fwtools), i want to install Hiya but there's a limit and i don't know why.
    Why cant it be worked around?
     
  2. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    7,057
    Country:
    United States
    @Robz8 could u answer why?
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  3. Pk11

    Pk11 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2019
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United States
    My guess would be that the space free is stored in a signed 32 bit int since that would max out at 2 GB so it probably sees negative free space for 2-4 GB then overflows into too little then back to working for a bit then negative and so on every 4 GB which would explain why it occasionally works with more free space...

    Has anyone tried having 6 GB of free space? If I'm right that that would be the same as having 2 GB free I think.
     
    ry755, Robz8, banjo2 and 1 other person like this.
  4. KleinesSinchen

    KleinesSinchen The Backup Reminder
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,435
    Country:
    Germany
    Good idea. I got no errors with these values (df on Linux):
    Code:
    1K-blocks  used       avail
    7966720    1864096    6102624
    7966720    1966496    6000224
    7966720    2068896    5897824
    7966720    2376096    5590624
    


    This gave "An error has occurred.":
    Code:
    1K-blocks  used       avail
    7966720    5518464    2448256
    
    Needs more testing if nobody else just knows the answer.
     
  5. Pk11

    Pk11 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2019
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United States
    That lines up with my idea, 2448256KB results in a negative number as an s32 while the working ones all result in positive. Also someone on the TWL Mode Hacking Discord just had it work with 25GB free from not working with 26GB.

    So the solution in HiyaCFW seems pretty simple, create a dummy file and grow/shrink it on boot if the space free as an s32 is negative, the file will never need to be more than 2GB since every other 2GB range works.
    Edit: Or maybe patching that number to be read as a u32 (or u64 if possible, not sure if you can increase the size though) would work if anyone knows how to RE that, u32 even should be fine though since the number would never be read as negative
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2020
  6. PipeWarp

    OP PipeWarp Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2019
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i have an idea. what if i make a program (like a dsi file manager), that lets your transfer files and simultaneously deleting and adding dummy files so it retains storage

    just a thought but its definitely possible, simple to make, and i might do it later after i finsh work with other programs
    also thanks for the answer
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2020
    KleinesSinchen, ry755, Pk11 and 2 others like this.
  7. Robz8

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    12,093
    Country:
    United States
    That's a good idea!
     
    ry755, banjo2, alexander1970 and 2 others like this.
  8. PipeWarp

    OP PipeWarp Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2019
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok, confirmed now im going to work on it
     
    banjo2, ry755 and Robz8 like this.
  9. Pk11

    Pk11 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2019
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United States
    IMO it'd work better to have something you just run once before ejecting and it checks the free space and adjusts the dummy file size if necessary, then you could still use the normal file manager for copying
     
    ry755 likes this.
  10. PipeWarp

    OP PipeWarp Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2019
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i would but you'd have to manually delete the dummy files to free space while my file manager can do it for you when you transfer
     
    Pk11 likes this.
  11. Pk11

    Pk11 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2019
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United States
    Since you never need more than 2GB of dummy file you could probably have it check the size of the dummy file (you should only need one since FAT32 can go up to 4GB/file) then calculate the new size from the free space minus the old dummy file size or so. (If you want to make a file manager that's cool just my personal preference is generally the native one so giving an idea :ha:)
     
  12. PipeWarp

    OP PipeWarp Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2019
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'll probably add a dummy maker as a tool in the program (fill up all the space without transferring)
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2020
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - HiyaCFW, limit,