Why is "Search Flood" enabled?

Discussion in 'Site Discussions & Suggestions' started by gifi4, Aug 28, 2010.

Aug 28, 2010

Why is "Search Flood" enabled? by gifi4 at 11:07 AM (1,234 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. gifi4
    OP

    Member gifi4 How am I a 'New Member'?

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,352
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    It really annoys me, I try and search something up and then realized I mistyped and then I have to wait 60 seconds, it isn't a big problem, I was just wondering why it is enabled?
     
  2. Phoenix Goddess

    Member Phoenix Goddess The Ninja's Protégée

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,810
    Location:
    Away from civilization.
    Country:
    United States
    It helps keeps down spam, for one.

    Nothing wrong with being patient for 60 seconds.
     
  3. gifi4
    OP

    Member gifi4 How am I a 'New Member'?

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,352
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    yeah nothing wrong with waiting, how does it keep spam down, wouldn't that be a post filter: 1 post per 60 seconds or something like that.
     
  4. Wabsta

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well, the search function is pretty heavy on the server I guess.
    Since it's a SELECT function, that searches LOTS of tables.
    Imagine searching for "DS". That would give a fuckload of results.

    So if someone would want to break GBAtemp, they could use the search function for that using a bot.

    That's why there is a 60sec filter on it I guess [​IMG]
     
  5. gifi4
    OP

    Member gifi4 How am I a 'New Member'?

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,352
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    hmm, interesting, but why is it that a search can only have 3 characters min. per word.
    So you can't actually just do a search for "DS Games" Because "DS" has only 2 characters.
     
  6. Wabsta

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Ah right, it has a 3 character limmit too.

    Well, imagine searching for the word "of".
    Can you even imagine how many posts there are with "of" in it?
     
  7. gifi4
    OP

    Member gifi4 How am I a 'New Member'?

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,352
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah, I guess so, would be crazy searching for something like that. Thanks.
     
  8. Issac

    Member Issac Mini-mod

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,465
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    That annoys me too... imagine if you want to know something about Ys 3.... good luck [​IMG]

    Anyway, you could always search on google and specify that you want to search within a certain site... [​IMG]
     
  9. antwill

    Member antwill Better Than You

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    How many 2 letter words can you think of? Barely any, so any likely terms you search for would be parts of other words...
     
  10. Wabsta

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Indeed, using "inurl:gbatemp.net" right? Or is there a better way?
     
  11. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    I'd use "site:gbatemp.net"
    But you can also use my custom google search thingy
     
  12. N4RU70 FR34K

    Banned N4RU70 FR34K Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    Aktsuki Hideout
    Country:
    United States
    Ugh I hate the stupid 60 seconds things it drives me crazy [​IMG]
     
  13. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    hmm, just had an idea: I combined my GBAtemp plugin for Google chrome (just something that links to certain gbatemp pages) with my custom search engine for GBAtemp. See here the result:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Of course I'm not keeping it for myself [​IMG]
    You can get it here: http://www.mediafire.com/?4gw4szziuuquj43

    Install method:
    1) Extract the GBAtemp_Search_Plugin folder anywhere.
    2) In Chrome, Go to Extensions ( chrome://extensions/ )
    3) Click Developer Mode on the right to open it
    4) Click Load Unpacked Extension and browse for the GBAtemp_Search_Plugin folder.
     

Share This Page