Why is MAME not ported for the Wii?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by bubbleboy, Apr 15, 2009.

Apr 15, 2009
  1. bubbleboy
    OP

    Member bubbleboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    United States
    MAME is the ultimate, and it's open source right? Now that the wii has been hacked, why isn't anyone trying to port it? I would but I can't code!

    It just seems very obscure emus are made (which is a good thing too!!), but the mother of them all has been ignored! [​IMG]
     


  2. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Do you mean SDL MAME (the arcade emulator)
    or something else?
     
  3. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  4. berlinka

    Member berlinka You have sustained a lethal injury.

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,147
    Location:
    Harderwijk, Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Is it because of these loading times that they don't continue working on this? I read somewhere that it had something to do with the large amounts of ram needed for these games.
     
  5. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    sdl mame works but you might as well go cook a turkey waiting for the damn games to load!!
     
  6. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It is a shame, cos it worked a treat on the xbox. Many a wasted hour playing old skool stuff like SF2, Super Pang, 1942, Wind Jammers, the list is endless. Aaaahhh, so many fond memories.
     
  7. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    it is a shame cos i want trog, wonderboy 2, Simpson arcade and a shitload of others to play. only thing you can do now is wait and hope they release the games you want on VCA
     
  8. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Simpson Arcade on 4 player is funny as hell!!! Forgot about that one
     
  9. yoitsme

    Newcomer yoitsme Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    United States
    Wii coders or developers don't seem to wanna pick this project up for some reason. It hasn't been updated in a year.
     
  10. UniBonger

    Newcomer UniBonger Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    the current versions of MAME go for accuracy and not speed, so the newest sources are out (from what I've read for years)

    however, GP2x MAME is based on an older version has been ported to a bunch of different systems with really good compatibility for games up to, say, early 90's... That could probably be ported to the wii much, much easier than porting the original MAME source code or even x-box MAME

    check it out here:
    http://www.talfi.net/gp32_franxis/
     
  11. wiiguy

    Member wiiguy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    United States
    Why would it take so long to load games made 15-20 years ago?
     
  12. jservs7

    Member jservs7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    891
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    I think the only way I have hope in a "working" MAME emulator in the near future, is if Tantric takes the project on. But him along with so many other coders are busy perfecting the projects they are already working with.

    This is the #1 emulator I have wanted from day 1 too. [​IMG]
     
  13. Knocks

    Member Knocks GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    559
    Country:
    Tantric just makes the GUIs, not the emulators. MAME worked like crap on Xbox 1, which was x86, what makes you think it will work any better on Wii.
     
  14. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    if they ever got it to work has good as they did for the Xbox1 i would be happy has hell, Cause the games i like played on the Xbox great, all my old shooter titles worked good,
     
  15. steve-p

    Member steve-p GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    now the wii has SDHC capability, maybe they should compile a fresh one with it included.
    that should speedup the loading.
    maybe even create a swapfile on the card to use during game init when stuff like rom-decryption takes place.
    that uses a lot of ram but can be free'd up before you play.
     
  16. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
    because MAME is a pain in the ass to port on a console system and because there aren't so many emulator devs in the Wii scene and they are all probably very busy already

    the only valuable ports are using "limited" MAME package, like MAME4ALL for the dreamcast
    this still require lot more work than simply porting SDL emulator in 2 days by just copypasting some wii code ;-)
     
  17. Richy Freeway

    Member Richy Freeway GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Because you're not loading just the game, you're loading a complete emulation of the original hardware the game ran on.

    This is no easy task.
     
  18. kevenz

    Member kevenz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Country:
    Canada
    someone needs to pick this project!
     
  19. grante

    Newcomer grante Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    United States
    MAME, unlike all the other emulators, doesn't just emulate a single system.

    To write an SNES emulator (or port an existing one) you just need to get all the hardware that was in the SNES working properly.

    Different arcade machines had different hardware. Some of them used the same basic hardware with extra boards added one. Some used completely different ones. To get all the games working, you have to emulate ALL of them...it's a much bigger and more difficult project to port than the consoles.
     
  20. musicman61554

    Member musicman61554 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    217
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    This would be nice. I miss MAME. Its better on a big screen than on a computer screen. I was only able to get Turtles and The Simpsons to work on mine.
     

Share This Page