Why is m3 SD still so EXPENSIVE??

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by webpop, Feb 5, 2007.

Feb 5, 2007
  1. webpop
    OP

    Newcomer webpop Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Canada
    why is the M3 SD still so expensive??

    it's retailing for $69-$79 us still!!!

    the new slot-1 M3 Simply's ~$45



    can someone explain?
     
  2. Lausan

    Newcomer Lausan Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Country:
    Sweden
    Its probably because the M3 SD was more expensive to develop or just because the hardware is more expensive. Just because its older doesnt mean it wil be cheaper.
     
  3. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    Just like vintage cars/wine
     
  4. deufeufeu

    Member deufeufeu GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    880
    Country:
    Cote d'Ivoire
    the true answer : retailers have bought units at a time when there's nothing but slot2, even if they don't make any profits, it would sell for more than the new slot1. Considering the gba support, they thought a discount was not necessary at this time. Expect the price to come down within this year.
     
  5. wabo

    Member wabo GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,082
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    What makes it that expensive is the 256 mbits of ram. Slot 1 card don't have that. It is the main reason. The M3 SD pro doesnt have that and is a lot cheaper.

    Even the m3 cf ( if you can find it) still cost a pretty penny, probably more than a slot 1. Luckily it's still a great card and works just fine. Add the fact that with an old f2a and wrg dumper it can dump ds games properly.
     
  6. Kaphis

    Member Kaphis GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    271
    Location:
    Richmond
    Country:
    Canada
    LOL! Finally a correct answer XD I have a sueprcard SD myself, its because of the memory in it that makes it work with as an opera browser expansion pack and run gba games ^^;;
     

Share This Page