Emulation Why is 3ds DOSBox so bad?

CrashMidnick

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2015
Messages
323
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
1,343
Country
France
Tried running Ultima 4 on 3DS Retroarch DOSBox and it was an epic fail, I tried running Ultima 4 on DSx86 and it had no sound. Why is it so difficult to emulate DOS on 3DS?

AFAIK, DOSBox is an accurate emulator, so it needs cpu power and (N)3DS fails. Latest Retroarch version are giving ARM11 exceptions... I use the stable version 1.9.0 to be able to launch it but it is slow and it lacks the virtual keybaord (there is a custom version with it somewhere at GBATEMP)

DS(2)x86 is not accurate, so the emulation is not perfect mainly the sound but it is playable most of the time (I can play Alone in the Dark on a DSI quite well and full speed with a DSTWO flashcard).

DOS games need some love for the 3DS for sure. There are so many games to play with.
 

Kwyjor

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 23, 2018
Messages
1,856
Trophies
1
XP
2,256
Country
Canada
DOSBox is an accurate emulator
Not especially – and it's not like the N64 where you can get big speed increases by sacrificing some accuracy. But it's absolutely true that the 3DS is not very powerful.

Tried running Ultima 4 on 3DS Retroarch DOSBox
3DS Retroarch isn't a very good idea in general.

Ultima 4 runs on ScummVM; have you looked into that? It will almost certainly run much faster, assuming the 3DS port of ScummVM still supports Ultima 4.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MORSHU8KRTXON

MrHuu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2015
Messages
501
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
1,216
Country
Netherlands
Dosbox doesn't run well because it has no 3ds related code implemented.

Retroarch allows it to run but that's it.
There's still a lot of room for improvement.

For example, co-routines should be implemented. Or at least some form of threading.

Which also should allow us to make use of the ARMv4LE dynamic recompilation already available with dosbox.

The 3DS's ARMv6 is fully capable of running the ARMv4 instuction set if i'm correct.

It does however need a dedicated developer with the appropriate knowledge and non biased opinion about retroarch.

A direct port of dosbox would also be a possibility if one feels like it, since it's only dependency is SDL 1.2.

With the current fragmented state of the 3DS 'scene', i wouln't count on any developer being intrested enough tho.
 

CrashMidnick

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2015
Messages
323
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
1,343
Country
France
Dosbox doesn't run well because it has no 3ds related code implemented.

Retroarch allows it to run but that's it.
There's still a lot of room for improvement.

For example, co-routines should be implemented. Or at least some form of threading.

Which also should allow us to make use of the ARMv4LE dynamic recompilation already available with dosbox.

The 3DS's ARMv6 is fully capable of running the ARMv4 instuction set if i'm correct.

It does however need a dedicated developer with the appropriate knowledge and non biased opinion about retroarch.

A direct port of dosbox would also be a possibility if one feels like it, since it's only dependency is SDL 1.2.

With the current fragmented state of the 3DS 'scene', i wouln't count on any developer being intrested enough tho.

It depends, when you see what wavemotion, Flubba and others did the past few months for the nds scene, there is always hope 😄

@MORSHU8KRTXON : maybe you can play ultima IV with UAE3DS 😉
 
  • Like
Reactions: MORSHU8KRTXON

MORSHU8KRTXON

Sussy baka
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2021
Messages
120
Trophies
0
Age
55
Location
Heaven
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
216
Country
Chad
@MORSHU8KRTXON : maybe you can play ultima IV with UAE3DS 😉
When I get the Amiga version legally. I don't think the amiga version has ever been rereleased, maybe on origin, but I have no idea on which version of ultima 4 is available on origin. The system requirements section of the origin store page lists a mouse, so it must be one of the versions with mouse input.

The DOS version is available on GOG for free.
 

MarioKartFan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2019
Messages
537
Trophies
0
XP
1,822
Country
Algeria
Dosbox doesn't run well because it has no 3ds related code implemented.

Retroarch allows it to run but that's it.
There's still a lot of room for improvement.

For example, co-routines should be implemented. Or at least some form of threading.

Which also should allow us to make use of the ARMv4LE dynamic recompilation already available with dosbox.

The 3DS's ARMv6 is fully capable of running the ARMv4 instuction set if i'm correct.

It does however need a dedicated developer with the appropriate knowledge and non biased opinion about retroarch.

A direct port of dosbox would also be a possibility if one feels like it, since it's only dependency is SDL 1.2.

With the current fragmented state of the 3DS 'scene', i wouln't count on any developer being intrested enough tho.
Holding out hope that @MrHuu is the one to take on the task of pushing the 3DS Retroarch core into shape. Are you accepting donations?
 

CrashMidnick

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2015
Messages
323
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
1,343
Country
France
When I get the Amiga version legally. I don't think the amiga version has ever been rereleased, maybe on origin, but I have no idea on which version of ultima 4 is available on origin. The system requirements section of the origin store page lists a mouse, so it must be one of the versions with mouse input.

The DOS version is available on GOG for free.
Get the ADF somewhere (easy to find), UAE3DS has got mouse support via touchpad or joystick and, of course, virtual keyboard ;)
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://i.imgur.com/dUNsGTz.jpeg