Why doesn't homebrew work?

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by imz, Nov 11, 2007.

Nov 11, 2007

Why doesn't homebrew work? by imz at 7:01 PM (960 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. imz
    OP

    Member imz GBAtemp's vigilante

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    Gotham city
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've tried using several homebrew applications with the G6 DS real (dshobro 0.2, dshobro 0.3, okiwi, beup 0.3, lmp-ng) all I get with all of them is a black screen which says loading... at the bottom (but it doesn't load), apart from dshobro which loads but doesn't connect. I've tried patching all the files but none of them work, am I doing something wrong? Heres what I do:

    1) I put the .NDS file in the 'NDS' folder
    2) On the DS, I go to the folder and run the application like a normal rom
    3) A screen comes up which lets me choose slot-1 or slot-2
    4) Both screens go black and at the bottom right corner of the bottom screen it says "loading..." but never does
     
  2. HellShade

    Member HellShade GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    Canada
    1. don't put the .nds files in the 'nds' folder, put it in your root directory.
    2. use the search button
     
  3. StacMaster-S

    Member StacMaster-S GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    367
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    Country:
    United States
    I made that mistake too but eventually figured it out. Wish homebrew was a little more clear in the OS!
     
  4. imz
    OP

    Member imz GBAtemp's vigilante

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    Gotham city
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i tried putting it in the root folder same problem
     
  5. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Homebrew never worked for me until I formatted my G6.
     
  6. HellShade

    Member HellShade GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    Canada
    do you have the latest firmware?

    does it say DLDI detected?

    if you answered no to any of them, format your G6 and reinstall system files
     
  7. imz
    OP

    Member imz GBAtemp's vigilante

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    Gotham city
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok i somehow managed to get it to work, but i can't connect to wi-fi on homebrew (apps such as beup, okiwi, dshobro). Even though wi-fi works perfectly on games. and how do i format it?
     
  8. imz
    OP

    Member imz GBAtemp's vigilante

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    Gotham city
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i finally got the wi-fi to work on the homebrew, i followed an excellent guide written by HtheB (the creator of beup) and now it works perfectly, if you too are having problems with WI-FI on homebrew go to this link: http://www.area-ds.com/htheb/index2.html go to the download section for beup 0.3e then scroll down to "Click here to see how to setup Beup if you can't run it!"
     

Share This Page