Why does my wii look so bad on my tv?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by paul3100, Apr 21, 2009.

Apr 21, 2009
  1. paul3100
    OP

    Member paul3100 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all

    Is it me or does everyone struggle to read some text displayed by the wii and also finding the screen generaly blury?

    I am using the supplied leeds connected directly to my 40" lcd tv and tbh it looks terrible!

    So what options do i have other than what comes with the wii to connect to my tv ?

    cheers , paul
     
  2. zuron7

    Member zuron7 RBYG

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,369
    Location:
    GPS not available in this area
    Country:
    India
    try disconnecting and reconnecting everything
    send it to nintendo if you still have your warranty
     
  3. paul3100
    OP

    Member paul3100 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So its just me then!

    I would love to send it to N if (A) i thought for sure it was at fault and (B) i could be sure N didn't take off all my homebrew stuff and give me a systems update ie 4.0.

    thanks for the answering edge199715

    paul
     
  4. Magoo222

    Member Magoo222 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had a similar problem when I first got my Wii, seeing "shadows" around the boxes on the Wii menu, blurred text on subtitles etc. Unfortunately my solution was to get an HD cable and use that. If that's an option for you I'd really recommend it, it completely cleaned up the picture for me. If not, you can get gold plated RGB-Scart Leads for the Wii, you might want to try one of those as they're meant to give a better picture quality. You can probably find them on Amazon, or just Google for them if not.
     
  5. bootmonster

    Member bootmonster GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The reason why the picture is so bad is that the supplied leads are the absolute bottom end of the scale. Also, on a 40" TV it's hardly suprising, considering how much the image is being stretched. Try connecting up any of your old consoles and you'll see what I mean.

    You NEED to buy the component cables for your Wii. A wee bit pricey but definately worth it mate.

    I would recommend the official one but third party cables are a bit cheaper, if not quite as good quality.
     
  6. NeSchn

    Member NeSchn GBAPimpdaddy.

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,533
    Location:
    Troy,New York PimpStatus: King
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have an HD TV? If you do you should buy some HD cables from DealExtreme. I am thinking about it just don't have the money at the moment. They are only like 5 bucks.
     
  7. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,352
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    get component cables or do what i did buy a component to hdmi converter. best $ i ever spent..oh but you need the component cables too [​IMG]
     
  8. BinFairy

    Newcomer BinFairy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had the same problem when I took my wii to my gf's place.

    As soon as I hoked it up to her HDTV, the picture went all crappy and we couldnt read the lyrics on Rock band.

    Try going to Wii Settings and changing the Refresh rate (ie. from 50Hz to 60Hz or the other way round)


    See if that works before rushing out to buy new leads =]
     
  9. imapterodactyl

    Member imapterodactyl GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    If you've got an hdtv, you definitely want to pick up component cables. Everything will look MUCH better... also, you'll be able to run at 480p which is impossible with the supplied RGB cables. Also, If you notice that your Wii has any lag at all (between your actions and what happens onscreen) it's because your tv takes a moment to scale the image... this problem will also go away (or be greatly diminished) with component cables. Hell, everything looks more crisp with components even on a regular CRT tv with component inputs, even if it doesn't have 480p support. Component cables all the way.....
     
  10. mysticwaterfall

    Member mysticwaterfall Streamforce Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,868
    Location:
    Right behind you
    Country:
    United States
    Ditto on the component cables, it was well worth the 8$ for the madcatz ones.
     
  11. Goshogun1

    Member Goshogun1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    471
    Country:
    United States
    Gotta get those component cables. I remember how bad it looked when I first got it, when I couldn't find component cables anywhere. Buy them, you won't regret it. Also, gamecube games look way better with them because of "progressive scan" in the majority of the games. Seriously, find some component cables.
     
  12. justmike

    Member justmike GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    329
    Country:
    Australia
    Maybe someone can answer this question for me or have any idea.

    I have connected my Wii to a 32 inch LCD TV with official Nintendo component cables and audio is via surround sound.

    It doesn't happen often, but sometimes I get random white line appear on screen only for a blink of a second. It could be anywhere on screen, it is like a spark of white line that randomly generate while playing a game.

    Could this be due to interference or anything of the like air con, or kitchen appliance? Maybe surround sound too close? Sometimes when I play, it doesn't happen at all, other times it does.

    I noticed that when I change the Wii TV resolution from HDTV it doesn't do it anymore. Could this be the LCD TV then?
     
  13. Eddie_Brock

    Member Eddie_Brock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    Country:
    Canada
    Go into your Wii Settings and confirm that you have setup your display for widescreen, and I seem to remember another setting indicating wether you had a SD or LCD/Plasma tv, try that.
     
  14. justmike

    Member justmike GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    329
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah, I even made sure my settings were spot on. I first used third party component cables to see if that was the problem, it wasn't.

    It only happens when it is at the highest TV resolution setting. If AV cables are used or the middle setting, it doesn't do it.
     
  15. danih

    Newcomer danih Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Hungary
    And what about "shadows"? I use component cables (aftermarket), and sometimes, when there are high-contrast lines (contours) on the screen they seem to reappear much blurred next to the original line (this happens rarely, the contrast between edges has to be really high to be able to notice this. latest example is FIFA10: when displaying club logos on white surfaces this effect is very distinct)
     
  16. SlCKB0Y

    Member SlCKB0Y GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Sydney
    Country:
    Australia

Share This Page