Why does HBC 1.02 run on IOS55?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by kwirky, May 21, 2009.

May 21, 2009

Why does HBC 1.02 run on IOS55? by kwirky at 10:57 PM (1,221 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. kwirky
    OP

    Newcomer kwirky Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    IOS 55 doesn't have the fake sign bug. Why does the TT choose IOS55? It will cause lots of original homebrew programs (before 3.4 system menu came out) to fail. Anyway to patch this IOS to make it trucha signed?
     
  2. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    If you had IOS61, the HBC (from 1.0.2 on) would use that. Don't know why they choose that, but once the update is there it should have a better sdhc compatibility.
     
  3. kwirky
    OP

    Newcomer kwirky Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    So I just install patched IOS61 and reinstall bootmii?
     
  4. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Just install the patched IOS61 before the new update of the HBC comes out. There is no real reason to update to that IOS for now.
     
  5. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think homebrew apps care what IOS the HBC runs off of since each app chooses which IOS it will use.
     
  6. Det1re

    Member Det1re det1re.de

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    Wasn't there a problem with Homebrew and SDHC, when HBC was running on IOS61? I'm not sure, but I remember bushing posting somewhat like "we're limiting ourselves to IOS55" — can't find it right now anyway.

    And therefore they might have changed the IOS in the hackmii installer... :x
     
  7. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Wrong. Only applications that do an IOS reload. AnyTitleDeleter for example does not do it.
     
  8. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Heh. I learn something new everyday...
     
  9. kwirky
    OP

    Newcomer kwirky Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    Waninkoko's firmware updater only fake sign IOS61. It doesn't have the ES_Identify and /dev/flash system calls! Does anybody know how to add these two features to the IOS61?
     
  10. joda

    Member joda GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    Umeå
    Country:
    Sweden
    That's correct. I can't find the quote either, but I remember them having that as a quick fix for broken SDHC for people running homebrew on IOS61 with apps on libogc.

    Anyways, I don't see why Trucha would be needed for anything else than homebrew installing, or launching, fake-signed content; and to my knowledge do Wad Manager, Gecko OS, and all Backup launchers on this Earth reload to the IOS they want ... which has trucha.
     

Share This Page