Why do I upload and download slow...

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by science, Oct 13, 2007.

Oct 13, 2007
  1. science
    OP

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    [​IMG]

    Thats my thingy from speedtest.net, you can all see what it says.

    My question is, why do I only upload at a max of 70kbps and download at a max of 500kbps
    All my ports are forwarded correctly and Im clever
     
  2. lagman

    Former Staff lagman I wish I was green.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4,071
    Location:
    Me, To You
    Country:
    Mexico
    Because kilobytes != kilobits
    You're getting the correct speed, it's just that they are different measure units.

    Try:

    http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest/

    In the end you'll get your speeds on both kbits and kbytes.
     
  3. science
    OP

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    Thats what I was thinking, but hoping I was wrong lol
    Thanks for the fast reply!
     
  4. Bob Loblaw

    Member Bob Loblaw Read the Bob Loblaw Law Blog!

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,260
    Country:
    United States
    500kbps is nothing to complain about. You're good to go.

    I get 100kbps max on usenet with verizon dsl...it's pretty teribble but also cheap..
     
  5. science
    OP

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    I misread what azures was saying, its actually 300kbps, which is really good, I was more interested in getting my upload higher, I want insane ratios on invite sites lol
     
  6. Shinji

    Member Shinji ҉҉ ҉҉

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,374
    Location:
    City of Delusion
    Country:
    United States
  7. 1man1dream

    Member 1man1dream GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Australia
    grr I don't even get 1 mb download speed >.<

    lucky *******
     
  8. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Its a bit slow with my download speed as it should be 20mb and not 14. My upload speed should also be around 1mb. Its probably because I'm a distance away from the server that I have to use to test the speed.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. theorgan

    Member theorgan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    nawhfuk
    Country:
    United States
    i got oc-700. i download full HDTV dvd's in like a minute.
     
  10. RiotShooter

    Member RiotShooter GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    200
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]

    thats what i get. it sucks cause i only get a max of 48kB/s. even though the test says otherwise
     
  11. azn_225

    Member azn_225 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    Canada

    same here man.. telus/// it sux thoe
     
  12. kellyan95

    Banned kellyan95 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    United States
    Those are normal speeds for a 3mbit connection
     
  13. GBA_Temper

    Member GBA_Temper *KING OF GBATEMP*

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    Atlanta,Ga. United States
    Country:
    United States
    Wow I thought my connection would be much faster..Comcast Highspeed with PowerBoost?? doesn't this suppose to be very fast...--->Connected to Hub [​IMG]

    ---------------->>> Not connected to hub ..Direct Connect to Netgear Modem/router [​IMG]
     
  14. jtroye32

    Member jtroye32 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    420
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    that's right, and that's fast.
     
  15. GBA_Temper

    Member GBA_Temper *KING OF GBATEMP*

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    Atlanta,Ga. United States
    Country:
    United States
    How did your's get that high?
     
  16. GBA_Temper

    Member GBA_Temper *KING OF GBATEMP*

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    Atlanta,Ga. United States
    Country:
    United States
    Here is me 4 hours later lol [​IMG]
     
  17. notnarb

    Member notnarb Not narbing it up

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Country:
    my 50 ft ethernet cable limits me to 300KB/s D:
     
  18. kellyan95

    Banned kellyan95 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    United States
    Don't think so, I had a 50 ft to my xbox and it got 3000kb/s tranfser speeds from my PC, also connected to a 50 foot cord
     

Share This Page