Why CIOS USE FOR WORKING FINE DVD+R DL ( DVD 9 )

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by florian, Sep 8, 2010.

Sep 8, 2010
  1. florian
    OP

    Member florian GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Country:
    France
    Hello [​IMG]

    I have a Wii PAL 4.1E with Wiikey 2 with latest firmware 1.3 and DVDR + DL ( DVD 9 ) not work on my Wii ???? But all DVD 5 work fine ! Also why the best CIOS you use for working fine the DVDR + DL DVD9 ?

    Thanks again [​IMG]

    PS : I have the CIOS REV 20 Wakinko installed and DVD 9 not work ?
     
  2. florian
    OP

    Member florian GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Country:
    France
    Not solution for me ?
     
  3. VashTS

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,658
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    rev 20 should work, its probably your burn or your wii. some wii's do not like dvd DL's at all.

    maybe try rev 19, install right over top of 20, you don't have to delete anything. are you sure you are using the cios to load and not the modchip?
     
  4. Juanmatron

    Member Juanmatron Slater Color

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,667
    Location:
    SEGA's World
    Country:
    Spain
    DVD9 works without cIOS-CRAP [​IMG].
     
  5. florian
    OP

    Member florian GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Country:
    France

    how to make for load the cios and not the modchip ? explain me if you want and thanks again [​IMG]
     
  6. rcsgd

    Newcomer rcsgd Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Australia
    DVD+R media (including DVD+R DL) need the booktype field set to DVD-ROM. For a dual layer game, the layer break needs to be set to 2084960.
     
  7. VashTS

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,658
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    you need to use a loader, like neogamma. that will use ios249 as the choice for loading, and that is what you should be using.

    last poster was right as well you need to make sure you burn the disc properly as well. that one im not helping you with.
     
  8. dmonkey21

    Member dmonkey21 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Country:
    United States
    lol nobody said anything about ciosCORP, and im pretty sure you need cIOS to make ure wii boot backups haha

    But on topic, have you tried reburning the DVD9's at a low speed? If the burns are good it might just be your Wii's laser as people have mentioned. Honestly since there are only a couple DVD9 Wii games out, it might be worth it to use a USB Loader for those games. Even if you have no HardDrive, if you have an 8GB+ Sd card or USB thumbdrive you could just put a DualLayer game on that.

    EDIT: O sorry should have finished reading the thread haha. The above post is right if you are using DVDR+ you will need to change the booktype.
     

Share This Page