Whoo, I have a new laptop...

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by Harsky, Feb 17, 2007.

Feb 17, 2007

Whoo, I have a new laptop... by Harsky at 2:55 AM (2,071 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

1. Harsky
    OP

Member Harsky Madmin

United Kingdom
    Currently in Hong Kong for chinese new year... and since I was given a fair amount of lucky money, I decided to get a new laptop to replace my old laptop that I bought last year. So i settled on this:

http://reviews.cnet.com/HP_Pavilion_tx1000...7-32305764.html

Still tinkering about with it but I'm not pleased with the fact that when I turned it on, I was greeted with tons of junk HP installed on it... am I being paranoid in wanting to download Vista and reinstall a fresh copy on it instead of spending a few hours picking out the stuff HP installed? BTW, I'm still new to the whole Vista thing but what's with the thing where if you click on an icon, there's a little checkbox?

2. FAST6191

Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

pip
    United Kingdom
    Paranoid about factory installed junk, not at all: quite in fact I suggest everyone reinstalls the OS as the first thing they do with a new machine.

You may come unstuck though as most manufacturers merge junk with the install CDs.

3. leetdude_007

Member leetdude_007 Official GBAtemp Assassin That Has Never Killed An

United States
    All I can tell you is to stay away from Vista for about a half a year.. and that's if you ARE impatient! Security issues everywhere. My university is adding additional layers of 3rd party security (the expensive stuff) for computers with vista in the network.

It's. Just. New. also it has a virgin tcp/ip stack.

4. Harsky
    OP

Member Harsky Madmin

United Kingdom