Who has the oldest/most broken computer/laptop?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by alidsl, Oct 26, 2009.

Oct 26, 2009
  1. alidsl
    OP

    Member alidsl I am now a lurker

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,823
    Location:
    Kanto - Pallet Town
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Post a pic of your computer and see who has the most broken computer

    (NO POSTING PICTURES OFF OF THE INTERWEBS)

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     


  2. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    DUCT TAPE FTW!!!

    I had an old PC from late 90s early 00s. Lovely Pentium 3 1ghz processor, 512mb of RAM and a 20gb HDD, I pushed that thing to its limit!

    My little sister has a dying Dell from 2003 time, 2.6ghz Pentium 4. Its slowly dying, running slow as shit but she doesn't care it streams anime for her.
     
  3. chrisman01

    Member chrisman01 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    313
    Location:
    Maine
    Country:
    United States
    HAHA! I'll call you on that and raise you a few years more:

    I have a Dell Latitude CPx from the year 2000

    And I'll also outdo your pic with a vid I made when I upgraded a few months ago:



    Beat that [​IMG]

    ...why am I so excited about comparing junk? Meh...

    EDIT: here are some of the specs:

    12GB HDD
    maxed out at 512MB DIMM RAM
    650mhz Pentium III
    1x USB 1.0 (ouch...)
    8MB ATI Rage Mobility Graphics Card (double ouch...)
     
  4. alidsl
    OP

    Member alidsl I am now a lurker

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,823
    Location:
    Kanto - Pallet Town
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cat FTW

    only 1 usb 1.0 [​IMG] I've got two
     
  5. Ireland 1

    Member Ireland 1 GBAtemps resident Irish

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    666
    Location:
    Ireland
    Country:
    Ireland
    I loled at alidsls laptop, just look at the duct tape. [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  6. KirovAir

    Member KirovAir Dutch Alcoholic Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It isn't old but it's a monster lol

    [​IMG]

    Power switch:
    [​IMG]
     
  7. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I got a old compaq presario 1255 with win95 original It's like a paving slab
     
  8. Raki

    Member Raki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    554
    Country:
    Germany
    Is this a Pentium D in a Laptop? The little sticker looks like the pentium D logo

    Well - I have a Highscreen PC with 10 Mhz Non-Turbo mode and 33 Mhz Turbo mode running win 3.11
     
  9. Gobnoblin

    Member Gobnoblin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    Cambodia
    does the commodore 64 count?
    my cousin also still has the vic 20
     
  10. chrisman01

    Member chrisman01 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    313
    Location:
    Maine
    Country:
    United States
    D:

    I just got served [​IMG]
     
  11. Vulpes Abnocto

    Former Staff Vulpes Abnocto Drinks, Knows Things

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,600
    Country:
    United States
    the oldest one I still have, that is still functional:

    Cyrix 6x86 262 mhz processor on what seems to be a "Delphi III" motherboard
    128 mb SDRAM
    7 GB HDD across two drives
    3D Rage IIC onboard video
    Creative 4x CD-ROM

    OS: (drumroll please.....) Windows XP SP2

    the most impressive thing it runs is Quake 2
     
  12. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,656
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    I still have a 486 somewhere where I work [​IMG]

    In my house the oldest PC I have is a P4HT 3.0ghz.

    As for old computers, I've also got a Commodore 64C [​IMG]
     
  13. myuusmeow

    Member myuusmeow GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    United States
    I have an ancient Toshiba laptop my dad got from his old college (each professor got one):
    Windows 98
    Pentium processor
    64MB of RAM
    800x600 screen (the old kind that had built in motion blur [​IMG] )
    2GB HD
    1xCD ROM
    1x3.5" floppy
    IR Communications port
    And my personal favorite pointing device of all time, a nub between GBH that you pushed to move the mouse. I had a TON of fun playing SimCity 2000 on this back in the day
     
  14. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not sure if old 8-bit computers count - but I have 2 (yes 2) sinclair spectrum
    [Can't post pictures as I'm in work - will do when I get time]
     
  15. jphriendly

    Member jphriendly GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Country:
    United States
    My oldest is probably a C64. Got it stored in a closet and bring it out once or twice a year. Still works great! [​IMG]

    Most broken is an HP laptop from 99-00 or so. Screen died and now it resides, in pieces, in a box somewhere in my house.
     
  16. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    My oldest functioning (in use) hardware would be my sparcstation 5 I guess. My oldest project hardware is prolly a pentium 1 66Mhz which I made into a wall mounted fotoframe, kinda anyway [​IMG].

    In all fairness I think a commadore64 does count as it was a personal computer [​IMG].
     
  17. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    My oldest computer has a 32MB hard drive and runs off Windows 3.1.
     
  18. alidsl
    OP

    Member alidsl I am now a lurker

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,823
    Location:
    Kanto - Pallet Town
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It says Pentium M [​IMG]

    2003 laptop

    wikipedia
     
  19. Ireland 1

    Member Ireland 1 GBAtemps resident Irish

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    666
    Location:
    Ireland
    Country:
    Ireland
    Pentium M i never heard of it. [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  20. Raki

    Member Raki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    554
    Country:
    Germany
    ah the logo was nearly the same
     

Share This Page