Who does(n't) have lag in Pokemon Platinum

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by gryto, May 6, 2009.

May 6, 2009
  1. gryto
    OP

    Member gryto GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I have an acekard2.1 running AKAIO 1.4.1 and a kingston japanese 2gb microsd card.

    I find that I experience a noticeable load delay when switching out of the pokemon view screen, moving out of buildings etc. (it's about 1 second longer than no$gba)
    The scrolling speed when scrolling through the items in the bag is also much less smooth. This is the most noticeable aspect of it.

    Note that I have done all the recommended things to prevent lag, like trying the old dma mode and formatting with the panasonic formatter.

    I would like to find out how prevalent this issue is with other flash cards.
    So please post your flash card and memory card, and whether you experience this sort of lag.
     


  2. Translucentbill

    Member Translucentbill GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    401
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I have no lag on pokemon platinum on my cyclods.
    I use an A-Data 8GB Class A Turbo series micro SDHC.
     
  3. alltooamorous

    Newcomer alltooamorous Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I am also experiencing lag with Pokemon Platinum. It is noticeably slower when compared to Pokemon Pearl/Diamond (I use Edge 1.45 Firmware with a 4GB Sandisk)
     
  4. anaxs

    Member anaxs got milk, got candy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Location:
    your moms jeans pocket
    Country:
    Canada
    i havnt had any significant problems like that ...my pokemon platinum is perfect.
     
  5. gryto
    OP

    Member gryto GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    New Zealand
    And your flash card + memory card is?
     
  6. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    Perfect Pokemon Platinum [​IMG]
    Retail BTW. lol
     
  7. DoS

    Member DoS GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    Brazil
    With Pokemon Platinum is really hard to know who has and who hasn't any lags. I myself played the game for some days until I noticed it. It's much more present in the longer black screen before battles, and slow scrolling in the menu. Many people won't notice and will say everything is fine. Unless we are all side by side to look at each other DSs screens, we just won't ever be sure =/
     
  8. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    Exact same thing i have here, and yes it is noticable [​IMG], but it isn't what you would call game-ruining.

    On topic, I remember i thread like this springing up somewhere, use the search function in the forum, you may find your solution in that thread
     
  9. zero383

    Member zero383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Vancouver - #1 City in Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I have the retail and the rom. I don't notice any lag on the Acekard2i. I'm using a Sandisk 8GB SDHC with 17MB/s read speed. Maybe try a faster card?
     
  10. gryto
    OP

    Member gryto GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Yeh I did. It was mostly just a bunch of people complaining and making ignorant statements, and I couldn't form any conclusions.
     
  11. Nintendo DS Play

    Newcomer Nintendo DS Play Newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I am using acekard 2i here and i did not noticed any lag in game at all
    though i have lags in other games like GTA
     
  12. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    No lag as well [​IMG]
     
  13. gryto
    OP

    Member gryto GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Yes I think most people think I'm talking about graphical lag, but it's more delayed loading when browsing the bag items and the black screen loading, which I guess people don't notice.
    Perhaps if people play the retail card or on an emulator they'll see.
     
  14. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    I have no lag on my Cyclo.

    And it could very well be that you are imagining it. Pokemon just is really really slow in the menu. It really sucks especially considering that the RSS-menu was probably double the speed. Might just be that No$GBA emulates it a little faster than it is on the DS. Wouldn't be the first time something like this happened.
     
  15. Zazie

    Newcomer Zazie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    United States
    None noticeable.

    Oldschool R4 with v1.18 firmware, 1GB Kingston Japan.
     
  16. R3AKT

    Newcomer R3AKT Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    I have a very similar setup, DSi, acekard2i (AKAIO 1.4.1) + 2 gig jap kingston. I just beat the pokemon league and haven't noticed any lag. I heard that retail carts have a similar problem but it might just be the save times.
     
  17. gryto
    OP

    Member gryto GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Well if the lag is lke that on the retail cart, then I have no complaint. Definitely not imagined though, there is a very noticeable difference on no$gba. It's more an annoyance though, and I probably wouldn't have made an issue if I hadn't seen the difference in no$gba.

    Edit: Actually, I checked a couple of older threads and a couple of people confirmed that the retail card doesn't have this lag.
     
  18. infinete

    Member infinete The Temp's cynic.

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    405
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a DSi with an acekard2i ( firmware AKAIO 1.4.1 Proper) with an 8GB Lexar micro sd. Never experienced lag on any game, and that includes Platinum.
     
  19. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    acekard 2.1, class 6 8gb transcend, akaio, only noticeable lag is switching between "pockets" in the bag screen.
     
  20. Camshi

    Newcomer Camshi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    None noticed in what i've played, 8gb class 4 card and ak
     

Share This Page