Which VHS to DVD converter would you recommend?

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by Dio, Aug 13, 2008.

Aug 13, 2008
  1. Dio
    OP

    Member Dio WRYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    556
    Location:
    Mount Vernon, WA
    Country:
    United States
    I really need to convert some of my old video tapes to DVD, what would be the best way?
     
  2. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    Buy a tv tuner card for your PC
     
  3. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,747
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    These things never turn out that well (if you have some more mainstream films then try and find them another way) but OK.

    Get a decent tape deck (a bad one will tend to mean a bad transfer) and make sure your tapes are in good condition

    Do as fischju says and get a tuner card (a lot of people buy them just for this and then pass them along at a barely reduced price after they are done so I would not spend long looking for a bargain), encode to a lossless codec (the tuner should have the option or a bit of searching should bring up how to do it). As this is going to be a realtime encode (I would not suggest messing with increased speed playback with a software fix the other end until you know what you are doing) any modern machine should not have a problem (maybe it will with lossless h264 but avoid that for now). huffyuv is not bad http://neuron2.net/www.math.berkeley.edu/benrg/huffyuv.html
    It will take a fairly large amount of space though so make sure you have it.

    One that is done encode as normal.
     
  4. Dio
    OP

    Member Dio WRYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    556
    Location:
    Mount Vernon, WA
    Country:
    United States
    Are there any particular brands I should keep an eye out for? There are too many on eBay.
     
  5. Dio
    OP

    Member Dio WRYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    556
    Location:
    Mount Vernon, WA
    Country:
    United States
    I'm totally lost here D: I bought a Dell Angel TV tuner, and I connected all the cables and installed the program that came with the tuner card. Could someone please explain in detail what I should do next? I have no idea what I'm doing.
     
  6. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,747
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I assume this is the device: http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/acc/...46/en/intro.htm

    The act of getting video from an analogue source (in this case you video) is called capturing.
    Capture devices are usually a bit like microphones (although seen as it is video it can get a bit more complex) and it will work like that is in this case (digital TV is broadcast using some version of MPEG so you can snatch a stream right out of the air).
    Much like every other bit of functionality in existence the maker will try to bundle a useless app to use it (which will be of little use to anyone), try it to see if the device works and then forget about it.

    Virtualdub is a good capture app but it uses a slightly older architecture (Video for Windows aka VFW)
    http://www.virtualdub.org/docs_capture.html
    The newer one as far as windows is concerned is Directshow but some also use a driver level method (WDM aka Windows Driver Model).
    If vdub does not work have a read of this forum section at doom9 and post back here:
    http://forum.doom9.org/forumdisplay.php?f=10

    What to capture to.
    I mentioned lossless up above which I strongly suggest you use to capture to. Lossy codecs/standards (most of those ones you will have ever came into contact with) lose some info in an attempt to make things easier to compress. Furthermore they are based on prediction of upcoming frames (why 2 pass encoding exists) and when that does not exist.....
    Links are up above, failing that type lossless into http://www.free-codecs.com/search.php
     
  7. Dio
    OP

    Member Dio WRYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    556
    Location:
    Mount Vernon, WA
    Country:
    United States
    I got an error 418: capture device not connected but it's there when I'm selecting a device =/

    Sorry to bother you but I just don't know anything about this.
     

Share This Page