Which version of FFIV should I get?

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by Covarr, Jun 13, 2009.

Jun 13, 2009
  1. Covarr
    OP

Member Covarr Sentient Cash Register

United States
    Yesterday, I started playing Final Fantasy IV: The After Years, and I realized I had no idea what the hell was going on. I'm guessing this is because I never played FFIV all the way through, so I decided I needed to go all the way through this time, instead of stopping halfway through like I did last time.

So, any advice as to what version I should play? I have access to every English language version (SNES, GBA, DS, PSX) and retranslation, so I was curious if anybody had any suggestions as to which official release or fan translation was the best.

And no, I will not be using J2E's translation. Word for word at the cost of flow does not a good translation make.

2. eric_4_life

Member eric_4_life GBAtemp Regular

Canada
    DS is the best

3. Covarr
    OP

United States
    Was strongly considering DS version, only thing is I can't play it on my TV. And the serious voice acting seems unnatural coming from cutesy characters.

4. zidane_genome

Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

United States
    If your looking for TV... PSx, or GBA via GameCube GBA adapter...

Portability, get the GBA version, since it's the closest to the original as can be... if you like it, and aren't that far in, try the DS version... it's actually fun with Voice Acting

5. Bladexdsl

Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

Australia
    just get the snes version and play it through snes9x on the wii. cos it looks exactly the same as after years.

6. Covarr
    OP

United States
    If you mean closest to the original Japanese, that's a good thing, as I've been led to believe the original SNES translation wasn't all that great.

I'll give the GBA version a try on VBA-GX.

Thanks, all, for the input [​IMG].

7. Taedirk