Which version of Dolphin runs Fire Emblem Radiant Dawn the best?

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Langin, Jan 2, 2012.

  1. Langin
    OP

    Member Langin GBAtemp's kpop addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hey guys, my Wii died while I planned to re-play Fire Emblem Radiant Dawn. I was like ''shit man that happens now''.

    The smarter side of my brains said: 'Try to use the ISO of the game with Dolphin!' My brains were right, it plays without any major flaws. Except a few which annoy my to much. 'All faces are blurry as the hell, Edward has glasses out of sudden and well it does not look like my Wii version.' Other problem: when I check my MSN while exiting my Full screen gameplay to check, the sound often goes double. I mean I hear the same song twice. But the second one I hear started later and well it is like playing two the same songs at the same time but starting the 2nd one after a few seconds.'

    Here are my PC specs:

    Dell inspiron 17 Laptop
    8GB of workspace(You know just to make my emulator more fast. I love Readyboost!! And my Sandisk 8GB USB Stick)
    Big HDD(300GB or something)
    Intel Core i3-2310M CPU @ 2.10 GHz
    Inter HD Graphics Family, 1.26GB
    Windows 7

    Running:

    Dolphin version 3.0-307-Dirty

    What's the best version of Dolphin for me to run Fire Emblem on it any problems?(Or less, at least no messed portraits, Music can always be fixed by quick saving and restarting.)

    Thanks for reading, I hope you can help me!
     
  2. FireEmblemGuy

    Member FireEmblemGuy Finally hit 1000 posts

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,271
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I haven't tried Dolphin in ages, so it might just be your graphics settings, but I do know that Intel graphics, such as the HD2000 I assume your machine is running with. I do know that with my older laptop I ran the game with no real graphical issues, just slowness. Check your settings, and download the latest build of Dolphin (public release seems to be 3.0-324).

    On another note, exactly what does the 'dirty' mean in the build version you're running? If it includes patches not in the main Dolphin source that might also be the cause of the issues.

    Running it windowed instead of fullscreen might help with your MSN issues, even if it doesn't look as immersive.
     
  3. Langin
    OP

    Member Langin GBAtemp's kpop addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I don't know what dirty means, just was an build from the dolphin website. :P
     
  4. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,174
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    According to the Dolphin wiki, Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn works perfectly on every build from Dolphin 2.0 to the newest build-bot releases, inclusive.

    But it says that you should disable Anisotropic Filtering and change the EFB Scale to Fractional.

    In my experience, Dolphin revs around 7600 have the highest speed, as well as very good compatibility.
     
  5. Langin
    OP

    Member Langin GBAtemp's kpop addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    where do I find these two options? I cannot find them. Even checke the wiki >.>

    also what is ''anti-aliasing''?
     
  6. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,803
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Settings can be found in the graphics config.

    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    AF sample and example:

    1X AF
    [​IMG]

    16X AF
    [​IMG]



    AA affects the Depth of Field of games, does bluring at high values. Games like Zelda use DoF blurring.


    zelda examples from the dolphin wiki. High values in AA and AF require A VERY GOOD VIDEO CARD, not your computer specs. You will have to lower your settings until you come close to the game speed you want.
     

Share This Page