which usb loader should i install as homebrew?

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by tedster912, May 11, 2009.

May 11, 2009
  1. tedster912
    OP

    Member tedster912 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    United States
    i tried getting the one thats in the topic with 3000+ posts but that file wont load for me for some reason. and do you always have to have WAD on your sd card? where should it be?
     


  2. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    you don't need the wad.The wad installs the loader as a channel that way you dont have to go through the homebrew channel to load the loader.

    If you want it as a channel then install the wad file(goes in the wad folder on your sd card) with wad manager 1.3 or 1.4

    Just find the loader you want and put it in your apps folder on your sd card.

    For usbloader_gx

    sd:apps/usbloader_gx/boot.dol
     
  3. tedster912
    OP

    Member tedster912 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    United States
    ok so i plugged in my usb thing in when it said so. and the light on the usb drive flashed but it said that it was not plugged in...whats happening?
     
  4. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    Turn on your wii.
    Then put in your sd card and plug in your usb drive.
    Then run homebrew channel.

    You don't have to wait until it tells you to plug it in.
     
  5. oxMUDxo

    Member oxMUDxo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    Missouri - USA
    Country:
    United States
    keep the USB drive pluged in and restart the Wii..

    Then go to USB Loader it will say it needs to reformate the drive after that install a game with the + button..
     
  6. tedster912
    OP

    Member tedster912 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    United States
    im just trying to get that USB Iso Loader GUI but i dont know what to do
     
  7. oxMUDxo

    Member oxMUDxo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    Missouri - USA
    Country:
    United States
    Is usb loader, loading..?
     
  8. tedster912
    OP

    Member tedster912 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    United States
    Then go to USB Loader it will say it needs to reformate the drive after that install a game with the + button..

    but no matter what i do it says that there is no usb inserted....so i dont even get the reformat option

    Posts merged

    the program you said loads but it wont recognize the usb device
     
  9. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    try pluggin it into the other usb port.
     
  10. tedster912
    OP

    Member tedster912 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    United States
    tried both. it recognizes the fan that i have for the usb port. and yes i unplugged the fan when i tried to do the usb
     
  11. oxMUDxo

    Member oxMUDxo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    Missouri - USA
    Country:
    United States
    Make sure the usb drive works plug it in you're PC.
     
  12. tedster912
    OP

    Member tedster912 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    United States
    it does ive used it on my pc before, like 3 minutes ago
     
  13. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    if you have anything plugged into other usb port on wii than unplug it, remove all memory and gamecube cards.
     
  14. oxMUDxo

    Member oxMUDxo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    Missouri - USA
    Country:
    United States
    O crap try back uploader will that still work..?

    You may have a bad CIOS installed.....blocking the Wii's fun stuff.
    Did you install IOS37..I hope not. it replaces CIOS 36..
     
  15. tedster912
    OP

    Member tedster912 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    United States
    backup loader still works

    Posts merged

    Did you install IOS37..I hope not. it replaces CIOS 36

    im not sure, but if i did am i able to delete it with that one program. i forget what its called....
     
  16. oxMUDxo

    Member oxMUDxo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    Missouri - USA
    Country:
    United States
    If back up loader is working you should be ok..

    I think its a bad usb drive
     
  17. tedster912
    OP

    Member tedster912 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    United States
    most likely
     
  18. Empyr69er

    Member Empyr69er GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Country:
    Canada
    did you install cIOS36 rev 9 or higher? you need that for compatibility for the USB loaders.
     
  19. tedster912
    OP

    Member tedster912 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    United States
    i do not know.. how can i find out lol
     
  20. Empyr69er

    Member Empyr69er GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Country:
    Canada
    you probably have not done this yet if you're not sure..

    i will send you a PM in a couple minutes.
     

Share This Page