Which one of the Slot-1s saves "Supercard-style"?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by ron555, Jan 3, 2007.

Jan 3, 2007
  1. ron555
    OP

    Member ron555 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    Title says it all.

    It seems like the slot 1's are getting slowly perfect, but one of the biggest things about the DS-backup solutions is the way they save.

    I know the Supercard ONE (SCONE) saves just like the older supercards, meaning it saves IN-GAME (without saving it to RAM) and then saving to disk after restarting the DS.

    Are there any other devices that do this?

    Thanks
     
  2. ron555
    OP

    Member ron555 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    BUMP. No one knows this?
     
  3. H8TR

    Member H8TR GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    796
    Location:
    t-Dot
    Country:
    Canada
    M3DSS and R4DS don't save like that.
     
  4. peepoop

    Newcomer peepoop Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not sure about the answer to your question...

    Not sure if you know this already, but if you patch your roms first with the Supercard DS Windows patcher it'll enable instant on-disk saving without you having to restart your DS every time.

    I consider the 'restart to save' thing to be very annoying behavior when saving games, but I guess it can't be helped if you really want to use clean roms.
     
  5. ron555
    OP

    Member ron555 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    peepoop,

    So you HAVE to patch them in order to prevent the "restart to save" thing? Oh well, that negates the whole purpose of clean roms. lol

    H8TR, thanks. That pretty much rules out the M3DSS and R4DS for me.
    I hate this behavior, so I'm leaning more towards the SC DS One now [​IMG]
     
  6. peepoop

    Newcomer peepoop Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    That's how I understand it. Kind of makes me regret going with the SCDS (I ordered one but haven't received it yet). Although I was planning on patching them all already to enable the reset-to-menu anyway.
     
  7. Hanafuda

    Member Hanafuda GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,579
    Country:
    United States
    IMHO, Slot1 is turning out to be not all that and a bag of chips after all. I hope Supercard keeps up its support for the SCLite, cuz for running NDS I still think its the best. Yeah, ya gotta patch roms to run from Slot2, but you get in-game reset to main menu, and direct-to-SD saving with SCLite. And its got speed like poop thru a goose.
     
  8. rkenshin

    Member rkenshin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    448
    Country:
    United States
    Well I see it like this, most of you aren't going to drag and drop because you're just wasting space not trimming them so why not just patch it with the rest of the "Super" features..

    I use both slots (Supercard1 and G6Lite).. S-1 for NDS with G6L for little NDS and more GBA.. Ah, good stuff
     
  9. webez

    Newcomer webez Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Spain
    Microninja also does direct save to save and doesn't need to reset. It also doesn't need a file to detect saves, it does it automatically.
     
  10. mavis

    Newcomer mavis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    Japan
    yeah they do [​IMG]

    I have an EZ-V and an R4. The EZ-V writes the save to the microSD when you power on, which I HATE - the R4 writes directly to the mircoSD, when you save in game - it therefore boots faster and takes less time to load games (just like the old Supercard SD and miniSD) ...

    Hope that helps!
     
  11. mavis

    Newcomer mavis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    Japan
    I don't know - aside from the in-game reset (which I do in fact miss, a lot!) the R4 is a definate winner. Direct saving to microSD, great speed (even with a slow SD card) and a skinnable GUI. Not to mention true drag and drop, 100% compatibility (so far anyway), quick boot times and load times, automatic save file creation on-the-fly if no save exists, and a PassMe function that actually works. I have to say, I am REALLY impressed by this thing, much, MUCH more than I am by the EZV.
     
  12. rkenshin

    Member rkenshin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    448
    Country:
    United States
    It's been mentioned before but the R4 doesn't direct save to the MicroSD, it needs to reboot to save..
     
  13. CatScam

    Member CatScam ScamaRama!

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    588
    Country:
    United States
    OK now I’m confused, so the R4 is not saving directly to the
    SD card but to bat first? Then why do they list it as one of the
    R4’s features? #8 “Save directly to MicroSD card, not to onboard chip”? [​IMG]


    R4 DS Official Features List:
    1· 2nd generation storage device (no booting tool required)
    2· Flush fitting slot 1 card
    3· Uses MicroSD card, FAT16 or 32
    4· Supports any MicroSD card speed with no lag in game
    5· Supports Clean ROM, drag and drop. Works on any OS
    6· Built in NoPass
    7· Automatically detect save type
    8· Save directly to MicroSD card, not to onboard chip
    9· Supports Moonshell and other homebrew. Open I/O interface
    10· User friendly skinnable interface. Touchscreen or button operation
    11· Supports rumble pak and memory pak
     
  14. Vincent Vega

    Member Vincent Vega GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    Brazil
    No, R4 and M3 Simply save directly to the media card.

    SCDS1 needs to reboot to save in clean ROMs mode and saves directly to the MicroSD card in patched ROMs mode.
     
  15. rkenshin

    Member rkenshin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    448
    Country:
    United States
  16. ron555
    OP

    Member ron555 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    Hi guys,

    I'm a little confused by the variation in the responses.

    Does the R4 save directly to the SD card (just like the previous Supercard SD's did) with NO menu when you power on the unit to save?
     
  17. mavis

    Newcomer mavis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    Japan
    Yes, that's right. The R4 saves DIRECTLY to the microSD, just like the old Supercard SD did ... I actually OWN an R4 so I'm not just talking out of my ass here ... [​IMG]
     
  18. Kaphis

    Member Kaphis GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    271
    Location:
    Richmond
    Country:
    Canada
    soo...um I am curious....

    so the R4 Saves like the OLD supercard SD

    and the Supercard ONE saves like the NEW supercard microsd?
     

Share This Page