Which of these two would be best for me?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by renasunflash, Mar 13, 2011.

Mar 13, 2011
  1. renasunflash
    OP

    Newcomer renasunflash Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I've done some research into the different flashcarts but I'm not sure which one will be the best option for me.

    I like both the Acekard2i and the DSTWO. Both seem great for DS roms, so that's all good. However, I also will want to play some GBA and GBC roms, specifically the GBC Zelda games. I know that both cards can play most GBA roms (A2i needs a slot 2 card, I know) -- can either play GBC roms too? Also, I've heard that the classic NES series for GBA does not work on the DSTWO. Does they work with the A2i and a slot 2 card?

    I know about AKAIO, but where do I go to update the DSTWO? Is there a list of games that are not currently working with each card?

    Another thing is, how are the loading times with these cards? My little sister has a DSTT card, and I've watched her literally sit for two minutes staring at a white screen waiting for it to boot up certain games. I don't have that kind of patience. xD

    Basically, I'm a person who wants to be able to play new DS games on release day, GBA roms, and GBC roms if possible. Is the best option for me the A2i+slot2, or the DSTWO? Cost needs to be considered too, of course, though from what I've seen both options end up around the same price in the end.
     
  2. Evo.lve

    Member Evo.lve All that you could be.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,786
    Location:
    Away from you.
    Country:
    Australia
    The Ak2i and the DS2 both have 99.99% perfect ROM compatibility.

    Both can play GBC games through a homebrew emu called Lameboy.

    Loading times vary from nothing to about 5 seconds.

    If all you want is to play games, get an Ak2i and forget about the slot2.

    If you want everything, DS2.
     
  3. Sop

    Banned Sop groovy dude lmao

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,244
    Location:
    qld
    Country:
    Australia
    Yes both can play GBC games. Can't tell you about the classic NES series.
    This site will provide the latest updates about those cards.
    DS2 has almost perfect compatibility due to it's onboard processor.
    Booth boot really fast.
    DS2 is for you.
     
  4. renasunflash
    OP

    Newcomer renasunflash Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    So Ak2i plays GBA without a slot 2?

    I honestly don't care about all the other non-gaming things DS2 does. I've got an iPod for music and videos and stuff like that. The only reason I'd pick DS2 over Ak2i is because I want to play GBA games, preferably without having to deal with a slot 2 card.


    @SOP; thanks for the info. [​IMG]
     
  5. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    no, the acekard needs a slot2 for GBA
     
  6. renasunflash
    OP

    Newcomer renasunflash Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay, thanks guys.

    I'm going with the DS2.

    Now, when I receive it, what do I need to do to get it all updated and ready to play? I'm assuming I'll need to update the firmware for sure, and maybe I'll need some other things on it to make it play GBA/GBC games?
     
  7. moodswinger

    Member moodswinger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Philippines
    DS2's CPU uses a lot of battery so less play time.
     
  8. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
  9. renasunflash
    OP

    Newcomer renasunflash Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    That kind of sucks but I think I'll be okay. I feel like the DS battery lasts a really long time in comparison to my PSP, so if I get a little less play time I probably won't even notice. Well ... it doesn't like halve the play time does it? Because then that's not so good. But if I get 10% less battery life, I don't care.


    @RoMee; Thank you!
     
  10. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    you should just link straight to the wiki, like half of those links are dead (wiki link is in the thread btw)

    also, the GBA emulator on the ds2 isn't perfect, but if u do get a 3-in-1 u can play them natively (aka perfectly), just like acekard 2i can
     
  11. renasunflash
    OP

    Newcomer renasunflash Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
  12. renasunflash
    OP

    Newcomer renasunflash Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Where can I find info about which GBA games don't work well with the DS2? I'm honestly not going to be playing a lot of of GBA titles other than Zelda, but I'd be pissed if I ended up having to buy the 3-in-1 (therefore spending another $20 on top of the DS2 price) when I could have just bought the A2i and 3-in-1 in the first place.
     
  13. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States

    it is?
    I didn't know that, it's been a while since I used those links, I though cannonfoddr updated them
    my mistake
     
  14. Evo.lve

    Member Evo.lve All that you could be.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,786
    Location:
    Away from you.
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah, that's it.
     
  15. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    that one should be fine
     
  16. renasunflash
    OP

    Newcomer renasunflash Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Thank you all for your help. It looks like the DS2 should be fine for me.
     

Share This Page