which hardware should I get

Discussion in 'GBA - Flashing Hardware and Software' started by TMcMahon, Sep 18, 2006.

Sep 18, 2006
  1. TMcMahon
    OP

    Newcomer TMcMahon Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Hey, I have a regular NDS and I want to be able to emulate NES SNES and maybe some of my MAME stuff if possible. And maybe play some MP3's or movies. The MP3 and Movie part isn't as important.

    I have read a bunch of stuff, and I can't figure out what route is the best for what I want to do.

    Battery life is important
    Portability too, Its nice iif the device doesn't stick out 9 miles beyond the DS

    Can anybody help me


    Tim
     
  2. pinbi7

    Member pinbi7 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    170
    Country:
    Canada
    all of the flash carts are good for emulation, but if you really want portable emulation i'd have to recommend either the PSP or the GBA SP

    i own
    GBA SP + F2A (best emulation console i ever owned) pocketnes + Snes Advance + goomba + PCE + Coleco + atari + many more

    DS + M3 (heard it was good,but haven't tried it yet) all of the above(but improved i guess???)

    PSP(my current emulation platform) plays pretty much anything before 1996,including CPS2, woot!!!
     
  3. TMcMahon
    OP

    Newcomer TMcMahon Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I guess mostly I just want to emulate on the DS since thats what I got.

    If I get the M3 or G6 or something similar, do I need to flash the bios on the DS?

    If so what hardware do I need to do that?
     
  4. SomeGuyGG

    Member SomeGuyGG GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Get a portable xbox.
     
  5. ridgecity

    Member ridgecity GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    759
    Country:
    Mexico
    I guess nothing can beat your PSP for emulators, Ok, only Sony and their firmaware updates do.

    I don't like the M3 NES emulator since it has to compress the screen a little bit since the ds resolution is a little smaller. It's not very noticiable but I don't like it.
     
  6. TMcMahon
    OP

    Newcomer TMcMahon Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    thanks someguy! really helpful! I ask for some help about how to get my DS to work and you write back with "get a portable xbox"...

    thats simply the best advice I've ever had from a forum!
     

Share This Page