Which chipboard I have?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by djcraze, Jun 19, 2008.

Jun 19, 2008

Which chipboard I have? by djcraze at 8:07 PM (2,612 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. djcraze
    OP

    Newcomer djcraze Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    Hello everyone, I am currently in the looks for a modchip (the WiiKey), but I have no idea what type of chipset my Wii has, is there any surefire way to tell? I did this online serial checker, and it said I most likely have D2C, does that mean I'm going to have to purchase the D2CKey (which is the same as the wiikey, just for D2C right?)?

    Thank you in advance,
    DJCraze
     


  2. didineedthis

    Newcomer didineedthis Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if you have a d2c ,you will not be able to have a wiikey , you need to be looking at a d2pro9 / aragon
     
  3. djcraze
    OP

    Newcomer djcraze Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    what about the D2CPro? And how do I tell if I even have D2C?
     
  4. killplaystation

    Member killplaystation GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    467
    Country:
    United States
    d2pro9 is 9 wires instead of like 40.
    I believe you can tell by the serial number somehow
     
  5. didineedthis

    Newcomer didineedthis Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the d2pro9v2 will work in all drives , so you dont need to wory mate
     
  6. djcraze
    OP

    Newcomer djcraze Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't mean to say D2CPro, I mean D2CKey. For the key, I was just going to get a simple Solderless Clip.

    Is the D2CPro better then the D2CKey? What do you suggest?

    ---Edit---
    How about the Wasabi with with Solderless Clip?
    This would work right?
    With this clip?
     
  7. SavageWaffle

    Member SavageWaffle GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    anyone wana give me the link to site? i have the same problem.
     
  8. djcraze
    OP

    Newcomer djcraze Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
  9. didineedthis

    Newcomer didineedthis Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    you are better with the d2pro9 v2 and the v4c clip , wasabi v1 had issues with d2c wiis and wasabi v2 has only just started to appear
     
  10. SavageWaffle

    Member SavageWaffle GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Oh im gunna not make a topic, and im not trying to steal this topic, but:
    "Your Drive Chip is most likely GC2-D2B.

    Your Drive Pins are most likely cut.
    "

    what chip will work on that?
     
  11. OrGoN3

    Member OrGoN3 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,003
    Country:
    United States
    It's not 100% accurate as it's based on user inputted data and not officially from Nintendo. Therefore it doesn't know everything. Here's a real easy way to tell which Wii you have: when did you purchase it? If it was recently, you have D2C2, in which case I'd recommend a D2Pro9 (with the d2c2 firmware) + WiiClip so you don't have to solder. If you know you have a D2C, but not sure if it's D2C or D2C2, open your Wii up. Look at the top of the DVD-Rom drive. There's a clip on the D2C2 drives, that isn't on any of the others. Unfortunately I can't find the pic online, so if you do open it up just take a pic of the DVD-Rom drive (the top, NOT the part where you put the chip, which is the bottom) and upload it here and we can tell you.

    That site is pretty darn accurate though, at least for which chipset you have. In terms of cut pins, it's not that accurate. I entered my friend's Wii serial number and it said 50% chance of D2C2 and 50% chance of cut pins. No D2C or D2C2 ever had, or will have, cut pins. Since he purchased it two weeks ago, he had a 100% chance of D2C2 (and yes, it was a D2C2).

    While D2CKey > D2Pro9, D2CKey doesn't work on a D2C2 right now, thus giving you three options, of which I recommend the D2Pro9. Just remember to update the firmware to 1.4 via the DVD download (no programmer needed if you get the right chip). I tested it out and it worked flawlessly.
     
  12. OrGoN3

    Member OrGoN3 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,003
    Country:
    United States
    Ouch. I'm pretty sure you can't use a WiiClip if your pins are cut. Simply means you have to solder it yourself. Just go with the Wiikey, as it is the best IMHO. 6 soldering points was it? Not the hardest thing to solder, and you can solder it directly onto the board if you'd like (I did and it works perfectly fine).
     
  13. didineedthis

    Newcomer didineedthis Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    your drive pins are cut so if you wanted to use a wiikey you would have to dremmel your chip to expose the cut legs ,so that you can solder to them . or you can just throw in a d2pro9 or a wasabi and not do any dremmeling plus its just a five wire install
     
  14. SavageWaffle

    Member SavageWaffle GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    are there anyway, to not solder it? Oh and so my choices are:

    D2Pro9
    Wasabi?
     
  15. didineedthis

    Newcomer didineedthis Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you cant use a wiiclip with cut pins you need the d2pro9 or the wasabi ,if you dont want to dremmel the chip
     
  16. djcraze
    OP

    Newcomer djcraze Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    Is this the D2Pro9 that can be upgraded VA DVD? it says programmer required, I REALLY don't like the idea of having to use a programmer..
    D2Pro9


    Thanks
     
  17. OrGoN3

    Member OrGoN3 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,003
    Country:
    United States
    Yes. If it is advertised to work out of the box on a D2C2, then you can upgrade via DVD. http://www.d2pro.com for the 1.4 fw update.
     
  18. didineedthis

    Newcomer didineedthis Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if you get the d2pro9 v1 and get 1.1b firmware pre installed on your chip you can then upgrade via dvd
     
  19. djcraze
    OP

    Newcomer djcraze Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you, I am going to go purchase that with the Wii-Clip V4C (D2Pro9)

    Does anyone have any objections?

    Thanks!!!!
     
  20. OrGoN3

    Member OrGoN3 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,003
    Country:
    United States
    Good luck! Works like a charm! If you don't want to solder at all, there's also an option to have the place you purchase the clip and chip from to solder them together. Really saves time and worry free! Don't forget your Triwing [​IMG]
     

Share This Page