Which cart does Castlevania PoR not freeze?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Sebokie, Jan 31, 2007.

Jan 31, 2007
  1. Sebokie
    OP

    Newcomer Sebokie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    France
    Hi,
    i'm wondering if there are slot 1 flashcarts with which Castlevania PoR does not freze, because i have a R4 and it does freeze with both 1g Sandisk and 1g high speed Microdia. Especially, does ez5 freeze?
     


  2. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    The G6 lite is the best bet for this game. I played all the way through without a single crash or freeze. I've heard rumors that some people had problems with this game on the G6, but it seems to be much less frequent than on other carts.

    It seems that this game will lock up/crash on just about any cart, but the problems are less frequent the faster the flash memory is.
     
  3. Farami9

    Member Farami9 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    United States
    it freezes with all slot ones and most mem cards, just buy the game and save the trouble..
     
  4. Jax

    Member Jax Pip Pip Cheerioink!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,092
    Location:
    L.A.V.
    Country:
    Portugal
    Oops, forget this. I thought you were talking about MicroSD. [​IMG]
     
  5. BoneMonkey

    Banned BoneMonkey The cheese stash is a lie.

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,226
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    its all depends on your micosd card try to get your hands on Kingston 512mb MADE IN JAPAN i cannot stress that more

    i have a A-Data 512 made in taiwan im 8 hours into castelvania no freezes yet i cannot recomend this card yet cuase i havent beaten the game yet but soo far soo good and the card only cost $8.99 hehe
     
  6. wuka

    Newcomer wuka Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Yep, no problem with M3 Simply/R4 and 1GB Kingston Japan here. It does freeze with 2 Taiwan version of the Kingston that I tried.
     
  7. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    I played through it four times on G6Lite. No single crash. On R4 it crashed on 1GB Sandisk, but not with the Kingston 1GB (Japan).
     
  8. Sebokie
    OP

    Newcomer Sebokie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    France
    g6 lite seems to be quite good indeed. Is it possible to dump nds/gba games with that cart?
     
  9. IxthusTiger

    Member IxthusTiger Cruddy's Buddy

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,610
    Country:
    United States
    Dammit, my kingston is made in Taiwan. Do you think I can invoke the customer service and get one from Japan? What would I say to Kingston?
     
  10. 7llusion

    Member 7llusion GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    114
    Country:
    France
    Try the Acekard, I have the old version and Castlevania works without lag/freeze.
    Illusion
    PS:I'm using a 512 Kingmax at speed 4.
     
  11. IxthusTiger

    Member IxthusTiger Cruddy's Buddy

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,610
    Country:
    United States
    Called up Kingston, they're mailing me a Japanese card and I'm returning the Taiwanese card [​IMG] This is only because the guy I talked to was cool, but he said Kingston is not claiming any difference between the cards.
     
  12. neoice

    Newcomer neoice Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Canada
    I hear a lot of talk about PoR freezing, but WHERE in PoR does it freeze? Is it random? or is there a for sure part in the game I could check if it freezes or not?
     
  13. thegame07

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    :'( sorry did not know your where talking about the ez. on most things its random.
     
  14. cornaljoe

    Member cornaljoe GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    523
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't freeze on the EZV using Hybrid mode. Using clean rom makes it freeze.
     
  15. IxthusTiger

    Member IxthusTiger Cruddy's Buddy

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,610
    Country:
    United States
    What microSD are you using and how is it formatted, joe?
     
  16. Gestahl

    Member Gestahl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Moscow
    Country:
    Russia
    Not one freeze on my M3Lite (v31) with Kingston 1GB (haven't checked if it's a japanese or a taiwanese card). I'm already 6 hours into the game.
     
  17. s223355

    Newcomer s223355 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Taiwan
    I use AceKard & Acekard+ and 1G MicroSD(Kingston Japan) ,and never freeze or white screen
     
  18. ShortFuse

    Member ShortFuse GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    United States
    It freezes on the DS-X at random times but only when you go to the menu (press start) when you access the map (press select), or when you access a portal (which acesses the map)
    but not too often
     
  19. Covarr

    Member Covarr Sentient Cash Register

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    872
    Location:
    Far East of Eden
    Country:
    United States
    I recall reading somewhere that Kingston has silently fixed the problems with the Taiwan cards, and that they now perform just as well as the Japan ones, though I'm not sure how reliable this information was, and I can't remember the source.
     
  20. jelbo

    Member jelbo Ōkami!

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    807
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It never freezes on my SuperCard Lite Rumble with a 1GB Sandisk Ultra II MicroSD.
     

Share This Page