Hacking Which Card to get, and how to install it?

Haloman800

a real gril
OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I have a DSi with Firmware 1.4. I have NO knowledge of cards, only that I am suppose to be able to "Get games for free". After spending nearly $500 on DS games, I got pretty excited. I'm not sure how I even updated, but it is 1.4.

Which card should I get? I've been told Acekard 2i, but how do I set it up? Do I just download the game I want, put it on the SD card, and I will be able to load it up? If not, please tell me how to set it up, if you'd like to contact me through AIM, mine is [email protected] .

Whichever one you suggest, please link me to the direct site where I can buy it, please.

I had posted this in the GBA section by mistake, so I figured I'd just post it here.

I heard that some of the Acekards 2i need to be updated by borrowing a ds phat or ds lite, my nephew has a ds lite, if the one I get is not updated, how do I update it?

For the future, how do I update the DSi, so I can avoid doing so unless I hear it's safe.

Thank you so much.

luigirulze

Newcomer
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
I would reccomend either the AceKard 2i or the M3i Zero, it really is just a matter of preference.

The M3 (provided you use the Sakura firmware, available in the downloads section) has an incredibly nice GUI, based off the popular homebrew Moonshell. (A multimedia player) So it is essentially the same control scheme as an iPod touch or iPhone, and can play Music and (DPG encoded) videos right off the bat.

The AceKard, however, seems to get game fixes a lot earlier, and has far better support for homebrew.

However one thing you should consider:

The M3i updates by using an external USB cable, you just drop the f_core.dat (also available on this site) onto the root (base) of the memory card, plug the M3i into the computer and you're good to go.