Where is the Wii' serial number kept on the Wii?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by RadioShadow, Nov 10, 2008.

  1. RadioShadow
    OP

    Member RadioShadow GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    525
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Anyone that says "look at the Wii's sticker on the Wii" will get shot.

    I know the Wii Backup Disc v1.31 disc does show the actual Wii's serial number. My PAL Chipped Wii's supposed Serial Number was different to the one the Backup Disc showed and it was that one that allowed me to format the Shop Channel and fix the error that comes up.

    Now the Wii Backup Disc v1.31 only works if you have a chipped Wii and using firmware 3.2X (I had to downgrade).


    Now I have another PAL Wii, not chipped and has the 3.2U firmware on with the homebrew channel. The only problem is, I can only use the UK Shop Channel and it says the Serial number on the stick I enter is incorrect when I try to format the Shop Channel (the hell?). I need to format so I can use the US Shop Channel.

    I tried loading the Backup Disc with the backup Loader to obtain the correct Serial number but that failed. [​IMG] Hoping this new gamma loader might fix the problem.

    The easiest solution would be to chip the Wii but I don't really want to do that. If anyone knows where the Serial number is stored on the Wii, perhaps a quick homebrew tool could be made to display the correct Serial code.
     
  2. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    did you try the shop update ... safe 3.3 update thing ?
     
  3. UrkeytaY

    Member UrkeytaY GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    109
    Country:
    United States
    It's been quite a while and I don't think I even have the box anymore, but try looking around on the box the Wii came in.
     
  4. RadioShadow
    OP

    Member RadioShadow GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    525
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's second hand so it came with no box.
     
  5. quim69

    Member quim69 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    485
    Country:
    Andorra
    The easiest solution would be to put the chipped drive in this wii for 2mins, run the backup disc to get the serial and then put the chipped drive back in the original wii.
     
  6. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Do you know that the Backup Disc 1.31 can be loaded thru SoftChip_rev40??? I did it and works, I hope it's not a late post
     

Share This Page