Where is a 4GB Mico SD Card?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Swordmyth, Mar 6, 2007.

Mar 6, 2007

Where is a 4GB Mico SD Card? by Swordmyth at 1:36 AM (1,681 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. Swordmyth
    OP

    Banned Swordmyth Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    130
    Country:
    United States
    Does anyone know where I can buy 4GB micro sd card that is compatible with the R4?
    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. jon_jon

    Member jon_jon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe in a year or so we will see some 4GB microSD cards. The 2GB cards have not been around that long.
     
  3. jhoff80

    Member jhoff80 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know if it'll ever come, they're working on 4GB microSDHC cards , but I'm not sure they will make a regular SD version. That being said, the slot on my Treo 700p supported SDHC after a software patch, so I'm hopefully that the same can be done on the R4.
     
  4. Spikey

    Member Spikey Your Special Someone

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,284
    Country:
    United States
    Nor are the speeds on the 2GB ones that are out any good. [​IMG]
     
  5. H8TR

    Member H8TR GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    796
    Location:
    t-Dot
    Country:
    Canada
    The current Kingmax 2GB Micro SD does 66x or higher according to Kingmax. I have a 512MB Kingmax card and haven't had any problems in any game including POR.
     
  6. Swordmyth
    OP

    Banned Swordmyth Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    130
    Country:
    United States
    Ah I see so there is no 4GB cards yet.

    2GB it is I guess.
     
  7. Szyslak

    Member Szyslak Nudibranch Lover

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,442
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States
    That's a bit too general. The A-DATA 2G is a great card. It's my second fastest next to the Kingston Japan 1G.

    HD Tach Long Bench:
    - Burst : 11.2 MB/s
    - Random access : 1.1ms
    - Sequential speed : 11.1 MB/s
    - Average read: 11.1 MB/s

    What's wrong with that speed?
     
  8. CatScam

    Member CatScam ScamaRama!

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    588
    Country:
    United States
  9. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
  10. arman68

    Newcomer arman68 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    Armenia
    Actually in the official R4 forum, there is a moderator reply stating 4GB SDHC will work! I'll try to find the post and link it.
     
  11. Foie

    Member Foie That one guy

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    867
    Location:
    Clackamas, Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    I remember seeing a site pre-ordering 4gb MicroSD cards, but I forgot the details.
     
  12. CatScam

    Member CatScam ScamaRama!

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    588
    Country:
    United States
    I thought the H.C stood for high capacity, or something like that.
    From what I herd the SDHC cards should work on almost all standard
    Micro-SD compatible devices. Is that incorrect?
     
  13. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Source.
     
  14. arman68

    Newcomer arman68 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    Armenia
  15. betaboy

    Member betaboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    The BetaNet
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't think the moderator on the R4 site has done his homework. He doesn't sound too sure (or knowledgeable) from his reply.

    Quote below ....

    "HC = High Capacity

    And yes the R4 should support them
    (but you may have to format them in FAT32)
    I think there's a limited size FAT16 can handle"


    I think the correct answer is the one from Wikipedia on the post above. I can't see the SDHC cards working at all due to the inherent differences in technology.

    However, we may eventually get a compatible 4GB micro SD card based on the existing standard (ie none SDHC) as 4GB non-SDHC, full size SD cards are currently available. Link
     
  16. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Just because he's a mod doesn't mean he has any connection with or special knowledge about R4. He might have just been the first guy to show up at the forum.
     
  17. betaboy

    Member betaboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    The BetaNet
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A quote from Kingston re SDHC cards ....

    Although identical in size to todays standard SD card, the new SDHC cards are designed differently and are only recognized by SDHC host devices. To ensure compatibility, look for the SDHC logo on cards and host devices (cameras, camcorders, etc.).

    As per my previous post though, I don't think it will be to long before we see a 4GB micro SD card build on current compatible technology.
     

Share This Page