where can I obtain a proxy server on my nintendo ds?

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by aminakbari93, Jun 14, 2008.

  1. aminakbari93
    OP

    Newcomer aminakbari93 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Iran
    a simple question:

    where can I obtain a proxy server on my nintendo ds?
     
  2. pasc

    Member pasc GBATemps official GBA Freak

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,570
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    you mean for things like DSOrganize ? I dunno, have been searching myself for a good proxy for weeks, no succes.
     
  3. hova1

    Member hova1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    690
    Country:
    Germany
    are you crazy? do you know how slow that would be?
     
  4. pasc

    Member pasc GBATemps official GBA Freak

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,570
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    a proxy might speed up surfing... but I think it depends on where it is located...
     
  5. aminakbari93
    OP

    Newcomer aminakbari93 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Iran
    no my internet is protectet and has filtering and all computers have a user name and password for connecting to internet but when I connect my DS to the wireless accespoint it connents but the server doesn't give the data can i obtain the user name and password in my DS?
     
  6. Chrono_Tata

    Member Chrono_Tata GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Country:
    Thailand
    I don't think a proxy server is going to help you there, if you can't even connect to the network. The DS has rubbish compatibility for protected networks, so for stuff like school or college network you'll have no luck trying to connect to it.
     
  7. Curley5959

    Member Curley5959 CCC Member!

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    so true...
     
  8. aminakbari93
    OP

    Newcomer aminakbari93 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Iran
    go in your internet explorer and go to tools-internet options-connections window and on Lan Settings when I want to go to the internet i must write the address and port
     
  9. Chrono_Tata

    Member Chrono_Tata GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Country:
    Thailand
    Like I said, you can't do that on a DS. Maybe there is a homebrew that let you connect to secured networks like that, but as far as I know there isn't. If there is, someone please point towards it cause I'd love to use it too. [​IMG]
     
  10. Frederica Bernkastel

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah, thats why.
    I thought my DS's WiFI adapter was broken.
     
  11. pasc

    Member pasc GBATemps official GBA Freak

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,570
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    DSOrganize allows for proxy usage. Even the official Browser does... so what ?
     
  12. Chrono_Tata

    Member Chrono_Tata GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Country:
    Thailand
    The options are very limited though. Since the OP took the trouble to ask, I assumed he has already tried and the settings of his network just isn't compatible with the DS.

    Or maybe I'm wrong. Well, go to "manual setup" in the Wi-Fi set up, select "no" for both "auto obtain ip address" and "auto obtain DNS" and see if you can figure it out from there.
     
  13. aminakbari93
    OP

    Newcomer aminakbari93 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Iran
    I have done it but it does not work i've tried it with DS org. and mario kart but it doesn't work
     
  14. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,697
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you just have a sign in policy they are generally tied to the mac address and set to expire after a time/period of inactivity so a general browser will work there. If it is done by cookie (a nasty way but I have seen it done) the you are out of luck.

    For general proxy work it depends on the homebrew in question. There are however sites that will direct your traffic to others rather than the normal proxy connection. It has been a while since I have used such a service though (for anything other than IRC anyhow) and consequently know of none (other than elgoog which is less than useful in this case: http://elgoog.rb-hosting.de/index.cgi )

    As for proxies, proxy list
    http://samair.ru/proxy/ you can usually find a good one somewhere.

    edit: I occasionally suggest people search for stuff and what do I fail to do properly....
    anyhow:
    http://www.proxsafe.net/ a website "bouncer" (I do not know the tech term).
     

Share This Page